Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

Brinkley, Getty named GOP leaders in Maryland Senate

Sen. David R. Brinkley of Frederick County and Sen. Joseph M. Getty of Carroll County will lead the Republican caucus in the Maryland Senate as lawmakers move into the fourth and final year of their terms next year, GOP senators said Monday.

Brinkley, who previously served as minority leader in 2007-2008, will return to that role for the 2014 session. He replaces former Sen. E. J. Pipkin of Cecil County, who resigned and moved to Texas.

Getty was elected minority whip, replacing Sen. Edward R. Reilly of Anne Arundel County.

The former whip said he voluntarily stepped aside after Brankley expressed an interest in running for the top spot in the caucus, which holds 12 of the 47 seats in the Senate. Reilly said Getty was Brinkley's choice to serve as whip.

Brinkley and Getty were unopposed and that the vote for them was unanimous, Reilly said.

"I'm happy to be back in the ranks," Reilly said.



Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad