Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five

Davis picks up endorsements in 4th District

Democrat Del. Dereck E. Davis, running for Maryland's 4th Congressional District, picked up the endorsement of a well-known Prince George's County councilman on Saturday as well as more than a dozen members of the General Assembly.

Davis, the chairman of the House Economic Matters Committee, locked down support from County Councilman Derrick Davis as well as Prince George's County Dels. Jay Walker, Angela M. Angel and Darryl Barnes, among others.

Nine of the lawmakers endorsing Davis serve with him on the powerful economic matters committee, which has broad oversight of the state's banking industry, business and utility regulation and economic development.

Davis, a Democrat, is running for the congressional district currently held by Rep. Donna F. Edwards, who is campaigning to replace retiring Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski. The district is based in Prince George's County but also includes a portion of Anne Arundel County.

Also running for the Democratic nomination in the 4th District are former Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown, former Prince George's County State's Attorney Glenn Ivey, Del. Joseline Peña-Melnyk, former county councilwoman Ingrid M. Turner, Howard University professor Alvin Thornton, former candidate Warren Christopher, Lisa R. Ransom and Terence Strait.

The district is reliably Democratic in the general election. The primary is set for April 26.

"He's been a leader for job creation, economic growth and addressing the concerns of Maryland’s working families," Del. Michael L. Vaughn of Prince George's County said in a statement released by the Davis campaign.  "He will be a strong champion in Congress who will deliver for our community."

Other Democrats endorsing Davis on Saturday include:

Del. Joseph F. Vallario Jr.;
Del. Ned Carey of Anne Arundel County;
Del. C.T. Wilson of Charles County;
Del. Mary Ann Lisanti of Harford County;
Del. Benjamin F. Kramer of Montgomery County;
Del. Cheryl D. Glenn of Baltimore;
Del. Bill Frick of Montgomery County;
Del. Benjamin T. Brooks Jr. of Baltimore County;
Del. Charles E. Barkley of Montgomery County;
Del. Sally Y. Jameson of Charles County;
Del. Vanessa E. Atterbeary of Howard County;
Del. Frank S. Turner of Howard County;
Del. Adrienne A. Jones of Baltimore County;
Del. Will C. Smith Jr. of Montgomery County. 

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad