Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

MPSSAA state volleyball brackets announced

Tim Schwartz
Contact ReporterHoward County Times sports

The MPSSAA released the volleyball playoff brackets on Oct. 29, and county champion Atholton and Glenelg earned No. 1 seeds in their respective sections.

The Raiders (14-0) are the top seed in Section I of the 3A East region, while the Gladiators (13-1) have the top spot in Section I of the 2A South region.

The regional championship games are set for Nov. 9 or 10. The state semifinals are at University of Maryland’s Ritchie Coliseum, with 2A on Nov. 13, 3A on Nov. 14, and 4A on Nov. 12. The 2A and 4A state championship games at Ritchie Coliseum are on Nov. 19, and the 3A title game is on Nov. 20.

Atholton, which won the 3A state title in 2016 and reached the semifinals in 2017, has a first round-bye, and in the second round on Nov. 5 will face the winner of No. 4 Reservoir (8-6) or No. 5 Long Reach (1-13), which play either Nov. 1 or 2. No. 2 seed Mt. Hebron (8-6) will play No. 3 Centennial (8-6) in the second round. The No. 1 seed in Section II of the 3A East region is J.M. Bennett.

Glenelg has a first-round bye and will face the winner of No. 4 Wilde Lake (7-8) and No. 5 Oakland Mills (5-9). Marriotts Ridge (8-6) also has a first-round bye is the No. 2 seed, and the Mustangs will face either No. 3 River Hill (9-5) or No. 6 Hammond (5-11). The top seed in Section II is Patuxent.

Howard (9-5) is the No. 5 seed in the 4A North region and will play No. 4 seed Catonsville on Nov. 1 or 2. Dulaney is the No. 1 seed, Western is the No. 2 seed, Mervo is the No. 3 seed, and Perry Hall is the No. 6 seed.


2A South region:

Section I: 1. Glenelg; 2. Marriotts Ridge; 3. River Hill; 4. Wilde Lake; 5. Oakland Mills; 6. Hammond.

Section II: 1. Patuxent; 2. La Plata; 3. Calvert; 4. Southern-AA; 5. Westlake; 6. Thomas Stone.

3A East region:

Section I: 1. Atholton; 2. Mt. Hebron; 3. Centennial; 4. Reservoir; 5. Long Reach.

Section II: 1. J.M. Bennett; 2. Northeast-AA; 3. Stephen Decatur; 4. Chesapeake-AA.

4A North region:

Section I: 1. Dulaney; 2. Western; 3. Mervo; 4. Catonsville; 5. Howard; 6. Perry Hall.

Section II: 1. Urbana; 2. Sherwood; 3. Montgomery Blair; 4. Springbrook; 5. Northwood; 6. Paint Branch.




Copyright © 2019, Howard County Times, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad