8 county basketball players to compete in MBCA Senior All-Star game

Eight boys and girls basketball players from around the county will be in attendance when the Maryland Basketball Coaches Association (MBCA) hosts its inaugural Senior All-Star game on Saturday at River Hill High School.

On the girls side, Taylor Addison, Madison Burris and Courtney Furr will compete from Howard in addition to Jess Foster and Kellie Johnson (Glenelg), Kiana Williams (Long Reach) and Nia Powell (Reservoir). Their game will tip-off around 4:30 p.m.

It was a quality year for the county as a whole, as Oakland Mills and Long Reach each made the state semifinals in its respective classification. And while the Scorpions’ season ended there against Queen Anne’s, the Lightning advanced to the 3A state championship before falling to Frederick.

Howard, which was also one of the top teams in the area all season, lost to Catonsville in the 4A North region semifinals.

Later on Saturday, River Hill senior guard Jaden Martin will play in the boys game. A four-year starter, Martin was the leading scorer this season for a Hawks team that won their second-ever regional title. He’s also one of three players in program history to score at least 1,000 career points. Tip-off for that game is scheduled for 7 p.m.

Below are the rosters for the boys and girls games. Doors open at 4 p.m. and admission is $5.


*Taylor Addison, Howard

*Madison Burris, Howard

*Courtney Furr, Howard

*Jess Foster, Glenelg

*Kellie Johnson, Glenelg

*Kiana Williams, Long Reach

*Nia Powell, Reservoir

Jameila Barrett, Catonsville

Caitlyn Clendenin, Bethesda Chevy Chase

Mackenzie DeWees, Manchester Valley

Jasmine Dickey, Catonsville

Vanessa Dunn, Elkton

Erin Green, Poolesville

Julia Hobbs, Poolesville

Kelliann Lee, Poolesville

Kyrsten Linthicum, Frederick

Ashia McCalla, Eleanor Roosevelt

Jessica Mitchell, Linganore

Shawkina Mulizam, Joppatowne

Courtney Roth, Southern Garrett

Dejah Pendles, Dunbar

Mackenzie Pollard, Western

Nia Scott, Eleanor Roosevelt

Madeleine Thompson, Poolesville

Jasmen Walton, Western

Tania White, Largo

Brooke Worrell, Chesaepeake (AA)


*Jaden Martin, River Hill

Joey Adams, North Caroline

Demetrius Barnes, Great Mills

Jordan Bright, Harford Tech

Rashawd Clowney, Patterson Mill

Jaden Faulkner, Eleanor Roosevelt

Mason Green, Damascus

Laquill Hardnett, Perry Hall

Anthony Higgs, Perry Hall

Imran Husain, C Milton Wright

Christian Jones, Annapolis

Nicholas Lang, Linganore

Demetrius Mims, Poly

Kamau Mitchell, Thomas Stone

Jason Newman, Potomac

Laquan Pettit, Wicomico

Dashawn Phillip, Dunbar

*Denotes Howard County player

Reach Kyle Stackpole at kstackpole@baltsun.com or follow him on Twitter @kylefstackpole

Copyright © 2018, Howard County Times, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad