Cosmic Cocktail in 2 weeks: Get your ticket today before they sell out.

Team 13 announces replacement for Janet Siddiqui

Howard County's "Team 13" has a new member. The team -- a moniker for a Democratic slate in District 13 comprised, this year, of three incumbents and one new candidate -- announced late Wednesday that they would be joined by Fulton lawyer Vanessa Atterbeary. 

Atterbeary takes the spot of former District 13 candidate and current school board member Janet Siddiqui, who announced last week that she was withdrawing her candidacy for one of the district's three delegate seats. 

Siddiqui's husband, Nayab Siddiqui, the president of a Columbia-based software firm, filed at the last minute on Feb. 25 to run in her stead. 

According to a press relase from the "Team 13" members, incumbent Dels. Guy Guzzone, Shane Pendergrass and Frank Turner interviewed "all three incumbent non-filed candidates" -- Atterbeary, Nayab Siddiqui and Oakland Mills community organizer Fred Eiland -- to determine who would be Janet Siddiqui's replacement.  

Pendergrass and Turner are running for re-election, while Guzzone has filed to run for retiring District 13 Sen. Jim Robey's seat. The district covers parts of Columbia, North Laurel and the southeast county. 

"It was difficult to choose among three very dedicated and qualified Democrats, as each candidate brought special talents, skills and life experiences," the release said. 

According to the release, Atterbeary grew up in Howard County and attended Atholton High School. 

"Her experience in business and her advocacy for victims of domestic violence will complement the team's expertise," the release continued.

Before deciding to run in District 13, Atterbeary had filed for a spot on the county's Democratic Central Committee. She withdrew her candidacy for the committee on Feb. 27, two days after she filed to run in District 13. 

Atterbeary was a Democratic candidate in Montgomery County's District 18 in 2010 but lost in the primary, coming in fifth out of six candidates with 13 percent of the vote. 

On the Republican side, there are three filed delegate candidates in District 13 -- Danny Eaton, Jimmy Williams and Chris Yates -- and one Senate candidate, Jody Venkatesan. 

Copyright © 2019, Columbia Flier, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad