Harford's Lisanti runs for legislature; Jennings, Glass, McComas hope to keep seats

Harford County voters are likely to see a number of familiar names, plus a smattering of new ones when they vote for their representatives to the Maryland General Assembly in Annapolis later this election year.

They'll also find a few well known names missing from their ballots, the result of retirements and one veteran legislator running for county office.

The county remains divided among three legislative districts, whose boundaries have all changed significantly since the last state election in 2010.

District 34 still covers the Route 40 corridor from Joppatowne east to Havre de Grace, but it no longer crosses the river into Cecil County, and instead covers the Route 24 corridor from Edgewood north to Abingdon and Bel Air.

District 35 still covers north central and northeastern Harford, but lost the Bel Air and Abingdon areas and the northwestern side of the county, while picking up western Cecil County.

District 7 continues to take in parts of Harford and Baltimore counties, but has gained northwestern Harford, so it now encompasses Joppa north of I-95, Fallston, Upper Crossroads and Norrisville, as well as Kingsville and other parts of eastern Baltimore County.

Two of Harford's State Senate seats are open this year, with the retirement of District 34 Senator Nancy Jacobs after 16 years in the Senate preceded by four years in the House of Delegates. District 35 Sen. Barry Glassman is running for county executive after a combined 16 years in the Senate and House.

The third incumbent, Sen. J.B. Jennings, of Joppa, a Republican, is running for a third term.

Delegate races

Perhaps the most prominent newcomer to the state races is Mary Ann Lisanti, county councilwoman from Havre de Grace.

She is running in District 34-A, as is Steve Johnson, a Democrat from Aberdeen; Marla Posey-Moss, a Democrat from Aberdeen; Mike Blizzard, a Republican from Havre de Grace; and incumbent Glen Glass, a Republican from Aberdeen.

Newcomers include Blizzard, known for coaching at area high schools and at Harford Community College, who has been working as an admissions specialist at HCC while teaching physical education there, according to his website. He is a founder of Iceman Entertainment as well.

Posey-Moss, who lost in the 2010 general election, teaches in Baltimore County, according to her Facebook page.

Johnson is known as a leader in Aberdeen's business community and the Economic Development Commission.

Incumbent Del. Susan McComas, a Republican from Bel Air, is alone in filing in district 34B so far.

In legislative district 35B, Andrew Cassilly, a Republican from Havre de Grace, has filed, as has Jason Gallion, a Republican from Churchville, and Teresa Reilly, a Republican from Whiteford. No Democrats had filed as of Thursday.

In Legislative District 7, candidates who have filed so far include Norman Gifford Jr., a Democrat from Baltimore, incumbent delegates Rick Impallaria, of Joppa, and Kathy Szeliga, of Kingsville, and David Seman, of Jarrettsville.

The third incumbent, Del. Pat McDonough, of Baltimore County, had not filed as of Thursday afternoon, according to the Maryland State Board of Elections website.

Senate races

In legislative District 7, incumbent Jennings was the only candidate to file, as of Thursday.

In legislative District 34, Republicans Bob Cassilly, of Bel Air, and Derek Howell, of Abingdon, have filed, as have veteran Harford Del. Mary-Dulany James of Havre de Grace and former senator Arthur Helton, of Aberdeen.

In the District 35 Senate race, two Republicans, Del. Wayne Norman, of Bel Air and Thomas J. Wilson, of Rising Sun, have filed. No Democrats had filed as of Thursday.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad