HARCO awards $15,000 in scholarships to 13 Harford students

HAR-CO Maryland Federal Credit Union recently awarded $15,000 in scholarships to graduating Harford County high school seniors.

The education credit union has awarded the scholarships every year since 1985. Since then 229 students, including this year's recipients, have benefited from the program.

Seventy-three students applied for scholarships this year.

"Our applicants have gotten very impressive in recent years. We had a good cross section of candidates," Stephen Remsnyder, HAR-CO Scholarship Committee Chairman, said.

Applications are collected from every accredited high school in the county, and a $1,000 scholarship is available to one student from each school to help them as they start their college careers. In addition, two special scholarships are presented, one valued at $1,000 in memory of HAR-CO board member and county teacher Edward V. Goetz to a student who plans to take up environmental studies, and a $3,000 HAR-CO Credit Union scholarship for a student planning to attend Harford Community College. Applicants must be members of HAR-CO and submit a narrative application along with supporting materials.

"This is our 28th graduating class. We're invested in our community. Our hope is that in 10 years our scholarship winners will go on to invest in the community, too. Our experience is that Harford County graduates will go on to do important things," HAR-CO President and CEO James Meehan said.

The scholarships mean different things for each student, but for all of them it's a validation of their achievements.

"I live on a farm. The property we work made me interested in environmental science and now I'm going to go study that," Tyler Stinar, winner of the Goetz scholarship this year, said. Stinar is the second member of his family to win a scholarship from HAR-CO.

Fallon Grace, winner of the $3,000 scholarship to Harford Community College, commented on her plans. "I'm going to study physical therapy, plus I've been accepted into the STEM program. I will be paying for college myself so this will be a huge help."

Besides the scholarships to Stinar and Grace, HAR-CO Maryland Federal Credit Union awarded scholarships to the following students: Abigail M. Combs, North Harford High; Austin G. Tomaszewski, C. Milton Wright; Jennifer B. Kerr, Bel Air High; Kaitlyn M. Clifford, Harford Christian School; Kerry H. Bruso, Aberdeen High; Logenn T. Schoen, Patterson Mill; Madeleine J. Larrimore, Havre de Grace High; Madison B. Brown, Fallston High; Megan B. Rink, John Carroll School; Rebecca E. Postowski, Edgewood High; and Zackary J. Valenti, Harford Technical High;

For information on scholarship guidelines or credit union membership, visit any of the HAR-CO locations in Bel Air, Aberdeen or Abingdon or at http://www.harcocu.org.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad