C. Milton Wright wins sixth straight county swim title

Tech, Patterson Mill celebrate numerous wins

The C. Milton Wright boys swim team won its sixth straight Harford County Swimming Championship Tuesday night at Magnolia Middle School.

The Mustangs, who managed to win just one event, totaled 332 points to beat Patterson Mill, 293. Bel Air was third with 261, and Harford Tech fourth with 235. Fallston rounded out the top five with 222.

Despite the team win, CMW's only win didn't come until the seventh event, the 500 free. Junior Wayne Walker did the honors in a time of 5:20.91. North Harford's Tanner Russell was second in 5:23.04 and Tech sophomore Chris Garvin swam third in 5:27.21.

The night belonged to individual swimmers from Tech and Patterson Mill.

The Huskies opened the meet with a win in the night's 200 medley relay.

It was close, as the seed times indicated, but top seed Patterson Mill edged CMW.

Alan Nguyen, Will Nguyen, Jack Leary and Luke Holloway swam 1:46.50 to best CMW's Kyle Rutherford, Jake Schafer, Michael Starkey and Griffith Scarborough, who were a little more than a second back in 1:47.52.

Huskies freshman Alan Nguyen came back from the first leg of the Huskies winning relay to win the 200 free race. Nguyen led from the start and won in 1:55.41.

"I think it's pretty great, I also think it's going to be the last year, so the times are solid," Alan Nguyen said.

CMW's Walker was second in 1:59.98, and North Harford sophomore Tanner Russell was third in 2:01.51.

Patterson Mill junior teammate Leary was a repeat champion in the 100 butterfly. The surprise champ a year ago, Leary won this year's event with a time of 56.27. CMW's Kyle Rutherford was second in 58.56. Havre de Grace sophomore Zac Orzewicz swam third in 1:00.11.

"Last year, I was seen as the underdog, so it was a little more exhilarating," Leary said. "But this year, since I was seeded at first, I had a lot more nerves built up. I was sick to my stomach coming into the race, but I just wanted to drop time, which I did and I beat them."

Tech's Young brothers went back-to-back to win the 200 IM and 50 free races. Mason Young, a freshman, swam 2:01.81 to win by more than six seconds over CMW junior Jake Schafer (2:07.98).

"Being able to win as a freshman is very honorable, people work so hard at practice and just being able to take a win is very special," Mason Young said.

Tucker Young, a junior, then stepped up to win the 50 free in 22.33, just ahead of Patterson Mill's Holloway in 22.82. Fallston sophomore Evan English was third in 23.03.

"I feel proud of him for pushing hard and winning that and makes we want to get even faster time and not let his time beat me," Tucker Young said.

Tucker Young came back a short time later to win the 100 free, touching first in 49.58. Alan Nguyen of Patterson Mill was second in 50.73, while English took his second, third place finish with a time of 51.32.

Not to be outdone, Mason Young also added a second individual win later, easily winning the 100 back event in 54.19. CMW senior Scarborough was nine seconds (1:03.69) back in second. Bel Air sophomore Robert Powell was third in 1:04.92.

The Youngs also teamed with Luke Krouse and Garvin to win the 200 free relay in the closest finish of the night. The Cobras swam 1:36.20 to edge Bel Air's foursome (Xaver Kane, Matt Siebold, Matthew Weaver and Drew Gagnon) who swam 1:36.24.

Patterson Mill then closed the meet with a win in the 400 free relay. Spencer Stuff, Leary, Alan Nguyen and Holloway teamed to touch first in 3:30.13, nipping CMW's Schafer, Walker, Scarborough and Rutherford, who touched in 3:32.10.

Bel Air's lone win came in the 200 breaststroke with junior Kane winning in 1:04.46, just ahead of North Harford's Kyle Russell in 1:06.40. Holloway of Patterson Mill was third in 1:09.39.

Copyright © 2018, The Aegis, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad