Don’t miss Trey Mancini and Joey Rickard guest bartend at the first Brews & O’s event June 10th. Get your tickets today!

Incumbent Tomarchio files for Havre de Grace City Council seat

Incumbent City Council member Casi Tomarchio is the latest to file as a candidate for one of the three seats in this year’s Havre de Grace city election, bringing to the field to seven candidates.

Tomarchio, who filed her candidacy Monday, joined the City Council in November after Mayor William T. Martin appointed her to the seat left vacant when Stephen Gamatoria resigned to become the mayor’s chief of staff. She will be running in her first election.

Other candidates who have filed are incumbent council member David Glenn, Jim Ringsaker, Carolyn Zinner, Nicholas DiPasquale, Kirk Smith and Annie McLhinney-Cochran. Other then Glenn, the other six are running in their first election.

Glenn has served three terms on the council. Michael Hitchings, the third incumbent whose term is expiring this year, had not filed as of Tuesday morning, according to Shyla Scott, executive assistant in the Office of the Mayor. Hitchings was appointed to the council in 2015 and won a full term a year later.

The filing period opened March 6 and will run until 5 p.m. on Tuesday, March 20. This year’s city election is Tuesday, May 8.

The city elections are non-partisan, and voters can cast ballots for up to three candidates. Council members serve two-year terms and are paid $5,200 annually.

Qualified candidates running for City Council can file a Notice of Candidacy with the Director of Administration at City Hall, 711 Pennington Ave., weekdays between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

A candidate must be at least 25 years old; a citizen of the United States for at least 10 years preceding the election; a qualified city voter at the time of filing; and a resident of Havre de Grace for at least two years preceding the election date. There is a $50 filing fee, according to the city’s website.

Havre de Grace holds a city election each May. The mayor’s office and the council seats of council members Monica Worrell, David Martin and Jason Robertson will be on the May 2019 ballot.

This year’s council winners will be sworn in for their terms on Monday, May 21.

Copyright © 2019, The Aegis, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad