Don’t miss Trey Mancini and Joey Rickard guest bartend at the first Brews & O’s event June 10th. Get your tickets today!

Who is staying, who is going in Baltimore County under Olszewski

As Baltimore County Executive Johnny Olszewski Jr. builds his team, here’s a look at who is staying and who is going.

All department directors and public safety chiefs are subject to confirmation votes by the Baltimore County Council.


The following department directors are holdovers from former county executives Don Mohler and Kevin Kamenetz:

» Keith Dorsey, director of the Office of Budget and Finance.

» Gail Watts, director of the Department of Corrections.

» Michael E. Field, county attorney.

» Will Anderson, director of the Department of Economic and Workforce Development.

» Dr. Gregory Wm. Branch, director of the Department of Health and Human Services and the Department of Social Services.

» Robert W. O’Connor, director of the Office of Information Technology.

» Steve Walsh, director of the Department of Public Works.

» Barry Williams, director of the Department of Recreation and Parks.


» Police Chief Terrence Sheridan will stay on for six months and then retire. Olszewski announced he’s undertaking a national search for a new chief.

» Fire Chief Kyrle Preis is retiring Dec. 31. Assistant Chief Jennifer L. Aubert-Utz will serve as acting chief starting Jan. 1.

» Andrea van Arsdale, director of the Department of Planning, announced on Tuesday that she is retiring. A replacement has not been named.

» George Gay, director of the Office of Human Resources, is retiring, the county executive’s office confirmed Friday. A replacement has not been named.

» Vince Gardina has departed as director of the Department of Environmental Protection and Sustainability. He’s a former county councilman who was an ally of Kamenetz. Olszewski has nominated David Lykens, the department’s deputy director, to be acting director.

» Joanne Williams retired last month as the director of the Department of Aging. Olszewski has nominated Laura D. Riley, the deputy director, to be the next director.

» Fred Homan, the longtime county administrative officer, was forced into retirement by Olszewski. A replacement has not been named. The county administrative officer is responsible for overseeing the day-to-day operations of county government.

In Limbo

» Arnold Jablon, director of the Department of Permits, Approvals and Inspections. Olszewsk has not announced whether Jablon will be retained or not.

Top assistants

Here’s who is working alongside Olszewski in the county executive’s suite in the Historic Courthouse in Towson:

» Drew Vetter as deputy county administrative officer.

» Patrick Murray as chief of staff.

» Charles Conner as chief legislative officer.

» Elisabeth Sachs as director of government reform and strategic initiatives.

» Sam O’Neil as senior adviser.

» Dori Henry as director of communications.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad