All-Baltimore County: Football

Sun staff


Lonnie Liggins, Hereford

Hereford uses a lot of runners in its offense, but Liggins is the main reason everyone could find so many holes.

The 5-foot-9, 185-pound senior running back was the featured back in the Bulls' wing T scheme, getting 1,321 yards and 26 total touchdowns. Defenses focused mainly on the speedy back, which benefited the team's other runners. Liggins' effectiveness showed on defense, , too, as he had three interceptions and brought one back for a touchdown as a defensive back. His play sparked the Bulls to a 13-1 record and got them all the way to the Class 3A state championship game.

He hasn't decided which college he'll attend, but he is considering Army, Duke, Virginia, Syracuse and Navy.


Bubba Harris, Loyola

Loyola earned a share of the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference title behind the tenacity of Harris, who consistently helped shut down opposing offenses.

The 6-foot-1, 235-pound senior linebacker had 115 tackles (12 tackles for loss), 4.5 sacks, three pass breakups and four forced fumbles. He was a three-year starter and has won two conference titles. This season, he led the Dons to a 9-1 record and a No. 3 final ranking. North Carolina State, Akron, Cincinnati and East Carolina are among the schools interested in Harris.


Marc Mesaros, Eastern Tech

Mesaros has been at Eastern Tech for five seasons, getting to the postseason every time. This year, he led a senior-laden group to a 13-1 record and the 2A title game for the first time since 1998.

Mesaros got the most out of his team, using a stable of running backs in Derryck Davis, Darian Conners and Thomas Edwards, while quarterback Travis Crane was equally potent running and passing.

The Mavericks' calling card was their defense, which gave up just 59 total points before the championship game and recorded five shutouts. Mesaros has a 49-12 record with the Mavericks and has had three 10-win seasons since 2003. His team gave No. 1 River Hill its toughest test of the season, falling in the title game, 14-7.

PUBLIC SCHOOLS TEAM: Justin Jones, Hereford, senior, OL: Joe Esbrandt, Perry Hall, senior, OL: Tyler McCrea, Hereford, senior, OL; Reno Jiggetts, Catonsville, senior, RB; Lonnie Liggins, Hereford, senior, RB; Matt Wood, Perry Hall, junior, WR; Tyler Brown, Hereford, senior, QB; Dave Stinebaugh, Perry Hall, junior, TE; Jason Fisch er, Hereford, senior, all-purpose; Teddy Dargan, Milford Mill, senior, DL; Joe Esbrandt, Perry Hall, senior, DL; Brian Botti, Hereford, senior, DE; Ian Sadon, Parkville, senior, DE; Mujib Muhammad, Parkville, senior, LB; Josh Asper, Hereford, senior, LB; Tyler Weedon, Catonsville, freshman, LB; Dave Stinebaugh, Perry Hall, junior, OLB/SS; D.J. Whacker, Hereford, senior, DB; Jason Fisch er, Hereford, senior, DB; Brett Ullman, Perry Hall, junior, K: John Bonner, Dulaney, senior, P.

COUNTY PLAYERS ON MIAA TEAM: A Conference: Cal vert Hall: Kevin Graves, senior; Pat Boyle, senior; Sean Boyle, senior; Dan Zentz, senior; Justin Strickland, sen ior; Ryan Griffiths, senior; Tyler Wagner, senior; Loyola: Leon Kinnard, junior; Terence Garvin, junior; Doug Shaw, junior; Kyle Stupi, senior; Bubba Harris, senior; Tim Bolte, senior; Matt Heacock, junior; Elliott Poehlman, junior; McDonogh: Lane Clelland, senior; Garrard Shep ard, senior; Doug Schenk, senior; J.P. Grant , senior; Jordan Davenport, senior; Malcolm Moses-Hampton, senior; Tyler Goldberg, senior; Curtis Holmes, junior; B Conference: Boys' Latin: Dennis Mahoney, senior; Aaron Veradi, senior; Chris Katerianakis, senior; Charlie McCo mas, senior; Lee Blake, senior; St. Paul's: Tyler Feeley, senior; Brian Taaffe, senior; Colby Roane, senior; Brian Prater, junior; Peter Smyth, senior; Mike Shipley, senior; C Conference: Lutheran Sean McFadden, senior; Aaron Chotikul, senior; Matt Kretzschmar, senior; Ben Thomas, senior; Ryan McNamara, junior; Anthony Fioravante, senior; Justin McCraw, senior; Dan Bright, senior.

Note: Player and Coach of the Year were selected by Stefen Lovelace after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches. The public schools and MIAA teams were selected through voting by coaches of the respec tive leagues.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad