All-Baltimore County: Boys cross country

Sun staff

Runner of the Year Sumanth Kuppalli, Perry Hall

The senior ran impressively in a number of big races to help Perry Hall. Kuppalli outlasted a tough field to win at the Bull Run in 17 minutes, 11 seconds early in the season. He then took third in the Bobcat Invitational before capturing the Baltimore County title. After that, Kuppalli won the Class 4A North regional race. One week later, Kuppalli finished fifth in the state meet.

Coach of the Year Adam Hittner, Loch Raven

The balanced Raiders had quite a run in the postseason, as Hittner did a fine job of guiding them to Baltimore County and regional titles. The Raiders also had a strong fifth-place finish in the state meet.

PUBLIC SCHOOLS TEAM: Sumanth Kuppalli, Perry Hall; Mike Glassman, Loch Raven; Chris Mills, Western Tech; Corey Hancock, Dulaney; Mason Campbell, Towson; Jay Thierer, Towson; John Steinbacher, Hereford; Ryan Chelton, Hereford; Dominic Rubino, Loch Raven; Charlie Larsen, Dulaney; Brandon Sweeney, Loch Raven.

COUNTY RUNNERS ON MIAA TEAM: A Conference: Calvert Hall: Anthony Rowe, Chris Swisko. Loyola: Matt Jablonski. McDonogh: Demetrios Pagonis. B Conference: Lutheran: Cory Armes. St. Paul's: James Saylor.

Note: Runner and Coach of the Year were selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches. The public schools and IAAM teams were selected through voting by coaches of the respective leagues.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad