THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

Arundel superintendent names panel to study start times

Interim Superintendent Mamie Perkins has announced the formation of a 15-person task force to examine school start times and provide a report to the Board of Education in September.

On Dec. 18, the board asked Perkins to create the task force, which will include school system personnel, officials from the Anne Arundel County Police Department and Department of Recreation and Parks and appointees from six groups with various affiliations with the county schools.

Maureen McMahon, assistant superintendent for advanced studies and programs, and Kathy Lane, executive director of alternative education, will co-chair the task force. Other members are:

- Lt. Doyle Batten, commander, Police Department’s school safety section.

- Pam Bukowksi, president, Anne Arundel County Council of PTAs.

- Kia Chandler, parent and member of the Countywide Citizen Advisory Committee.

- Franklin Chaney, chief of recreation services, Department of Recreation and Parks.

- Jacob Horstkamp, student, North County High School.

- Greg LeGrand, coordinator of athletics for county schools.

- Heather Macintosh, co-founder, Anne Arundel County chapter of Start School Later.

- Wanda McIntire, acting supervisor of transportation for the county schools.

- William Myers, principal of South River High School and president of the Association of Educational Leaders.

- Kate Snyder, teacher, MacArthur Middle School, representing the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County.

- Carol Streeter, chair, Parent Involvement Advisory Committee.

- Chris Truffer, regional assistant superintendent of the county schools’ Annapolis and Broadneck clusters.

- Teresa Tudor, senior manager of the county schools’ School and Family Partnerships.

The group held its first meeting this past week, and will meet monthly through August.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad