Jennifer C. Boone, FBI special agent in charge of Baltimore field office, retires

Jennifer C. Boone, the special agent in charge of the Baltimore field office of the FBI for the past two years, has retired, the agency confirmed.

Boone, a Maryland native, came to Baltimore in June 2019 and retired Friday with almost 24 years of service with the FBI, Joy Jiras, the spokeswoman for the office, said Monday.


“When I was given the opportunity to come back to my home state of Maryland and lead the Baltimore Field Office as the Special Agent in Charge it was a dream come true and I knew, even then, it was where I would want to finish my FBI career,” Boone said in a statement.

Said acting U.S. Attorney Jonathan Lenzner: “Jen is a natural leader who advocated for her team and always kept an eye on how our efforts were impacting the big picture. She not only solved the immediate problem, but took time to understand the underlying issues and tried to address those as well.”

Jennifer C. Boone retired Friday with almost 24 years of service with the FBI.

The FBI, working in conjunction with the U.S. Attorney’s Office, has brought a number of high-profile cases during Boone’s tenure, including convictions against Mayor Catherine Pugh and Del. Cheryl Glenn, and the continuing fallout of the Gun Trace Task Force case, with additional officers charged. Boone took part in recent announcements about a multinational elder fraud case as well as a Crips gang takedown in Southwest Baltimore.

The announcement comes weeks after the FBI issued subpoenas related to a criminal tax investigation of Nick and Marilyn Mosby, Baltimore’s City Council president and top prosecutor, respectively.

Rachel Byrd, a section chief of investigations and operations at FBI headquarters, is serving in an acting capacity, with a permanent special agent in charge expected to be selected in the coming weeks.

Baltimore’s FBI special agents in charge have tended to serve about two to three years. Boone’s predecessor, Gordon Johnson, served from October 2016 and retired in February 2019. Kevin Perkins served only 15 months, appointed in July 2015 and leaving in October 2016. Stephen E. Vogt served from Oct. 2012 until July 2015.