Archdiocese moving special education program to Rosedale school

The Archdiocese of Baltimore has designated an elementary school in Rosedale to receive special education students from two schools it will close at the end of the year.

The archdiocese said Thursday it would move the Pupils Receiving Inclusive Diversified Education (PRIDE) program to St. Clement Mary Hofbauer School on Chesaco Avenue.


St. Clement Mary Hofbauer will receive students from Sacred Heart of Mary School and Mother Mary Lange Catholic School, where 55 are currently enrolled in the program for children with minimal learning disabilities.

The archdiocese says students enrolled in the program at Sacred Heart of Mary and Mother Mary Lange and their siblings will be accepted at St. Clement.


Archbishop Edwin F. O'Brien has chosen Sacred Heart of Mary Principal Pamela Walters to follow the program to St. Clement Mary Hofbauer as principal there.

Walters is to coordinate the newly expanded PRIDE Plus and to oversee the training of teachers in the program. In the fall, St. Clement Mary Hofbauer is to become the professional development school for PRIDE, which the archdiocese says will be expanded to another school in 2011 and two more in 2012.

O'Brien announced plans this month to close 13 of 64 schools at the end of the school year as part of a reorganization that he says is intended to keep the system viable in the face of rising costs and falling enrollments.

Earlier this week, the archdiocese announced plans to open an English-Spanish bilingual immersion program this fall at the Archbishop Borders School in Highlandtown.

Also Thursday, O'Brien announced several new principal assignments. Father Charles Hall Catholic Principal Kathleen Filippelli has been appointed to head the new Catholic elementary school to be located initially at Seton Keough High School. St. Clare Principal Margaret Dates will move to St. Pius X and Mother Mary Lange Principal Sister Rita Michelle Proctor will move to Cardinal Shehan.

Staying at their current assignments will be Monsignor Slade Principal Gregory Jones, St. Michael the Archangel Principal Patricia Kelly, Ss. James and John Principal LaUanah King-Cassell, Our Lady of Hope/St. Luke Principal Sister Irene Pryle, Our Lady of Victory Principal Thomas Riddle, St. Ambrose Principal Pamela Sanders, St. Augustine Principal Patricia Schratz, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Principal Lisa Shipley and St. Philip Neri Principal Shirley Wise.