Four candidates have applied for the seat on the Anne Arundel County School Board vacated two weeks ago by Tricia Johnson, who was appointed to the County Council, according to the county's School Board Nominating Commission.

The candidates are: Michael Leahy of Severna Park, whose term on the board recently expired; Andrew Pruski of Gambrills; Janet R. Pogar of Glen Burnie; and Paul Rudolph of Severna Park.

The School Board Nominating Commission is scheduled to hold two public hearings next week, before forwarding nominees to Gov. Martin O'Malley, who will appoint a new board member to the at-large seat.

The first public hearing, a question-and-answer session, will take place at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday at Anne Arundel Community College's West Arnold Campus, CADE 219.

The second public hearing will be at 8 p.m. Wednesday at the same location. At this hearing, the commission will accept public testimony not in excess of five minutes per person on the applicants. The candidates will be afforded one designated witness.

The commission then will vote on each candidate. A successful candidate must receive eight votes to have his or her name forwarded to the governor.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad