UConn believe it

ST. LOUIS — ST. LOUIS -Seldom in sports do things work out this way, perfectly as planned, from blueprint to the victory stand.

But it does happen, sometimes three times.


Things click, chemistry blends with talent, determination meets destiny and magical seasons supersede ambitious goals.

The 2008-09 Connecticut women, driven by three players as gifted as any they've had, won it all Tuesday - every game, almost every minute and, ultimately, the national championship.


"Now we can breathe," Renee Montgomery said.

Challenged briefly in the first half, the Huskies ultimately rolled, defeating Louisville, 76-54, at the Scottrade Center to win their sixth national championship in 15 years.

"President Barack Obama, we'll be seeing you at the White House," UConn junior Tina Charles said.

Charles, so maligned in the past for her postseason performances, was at the forefront of the attack.

"It was just another challenge for me," she said. "I wanted my teammates to know they could depend on me."

With her 25 points and 19 rebounds, she became the sixth player in NCAA championship game history to have 15 or more points and 15 or more rebounds. She was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four.

"If you can't throw a 6-foot-4 body at her, it just makes it difficult to slow her down," Louisville coach Jeff Walz said. "The kid scored 25 and 19. I'm not sure you can do better than that."

Coach Geno Auriemma's team completed its third undefeated season, joining the 1995 and 2002 champs.


"I tried to explain to my players that it's impossible to be perfect," Auriemma said. "But we can work every day to be as close as we possibly can."

UConn's third win over the Cardinals this season was certainly a charm, its 39th straight victory of 10 points or more. The Huskies are the first team in NCAA history - men or women - to win each game by a double-digit margin.

"Tonight, we gave you everything that we've got," Auriemma said.

Montgomery, the senior leader, ended her career with 18 points, passing the mantel to Maya Moore, the consensus National Player of the Year, who also scored 18.

Senior Angel McCoughtry (St. Frances), Louisville's All-American, led the Cardinals with 23 points in her final game.

McCoughtry opened the scoring with a three, and Louisville's energy carried it through the first television timeout tied at 9. The tension moved deeper into the half with McCoughtry leading the way and UConn fumbling away the ball. It was still tied at 15 with 11:17 left in the half. "It was one of those games when you sit there and think that we did a lot of good things," Walz said. "We had the tempo the way we wanted it to go. Unfortunately, we just missed some shots we normally make."


And then it was over.

Utilizing Charles inside, the Huskies outscored the Cardinals 22-8 down the stretch to take a 39-25 lead into the half.

Louisville missed 13 of its last 14 shots and McCoughtry didn't score over the final 11:42 of the half. Then the Cardinals missed their first eight shots in the second half. Charles shot 7-for-9 in the first half.


Connecticut became the 12th Division I men's or women's team to win an NCAA championship to complete an unbeaten season:

Year Team


Men 1956 ... San Francisco

............... 1957 ... North Carolina

.............. 1964 ... UCLA

1967 ... UCLA

............... 1972 ... UCLA

................ 1973 ... UCLA


................ 1976 ... Indiana


.............. 1986 ..... Texas

................1995 ... Connecticut

.............. 1998 .... Tennessee

............... 2002 .... Connecticut


............... 2009 .... Connecticut