The Baltimore Sun

boys basketball


Xavier Drake, Milford Mill

The senior guard led the No. 3 Millers (23-4) to their first Baltimore County title with consistent numbers, strong leadership and a knack for making clutch shots. He finished the season averaging 16.8 points, five assists and five rebounds. Drake, a three-year starter, hit three-pointers to beat No. 6 City and county rival Parkville in the closing seconds.

coach of the year

John Bauersfeld, Calvert Hall

After going 15-17 with a young team in his first year as head coach, Bauersfeld guided the Cardinals to a 29-7 mark that helps lay a solid foundation for years to come. Calvert Hall, a junior-laden team, finished second behind St. Frances during the regular season in both the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference and the Baltimore Catholic League, reaching the MIAA championship game. Bauersfeld, a Calvert Hall alumnus, also was named the BCL Coach of the Year.

The team

Name School Cl. Pos.

Xavier Drake Milford Mill Sr. G

Miquante Greene Patapsco Sr. G

Kevin Harrison Dulaney Sr. G

Chris Hutchinson New Town Sr. G

Matt Rum Loyola Sr. G

Devin Spencer Towson Catholic Sr. G

Donya Jackson Calvert Hall Jr. F

Damion Lee Calvert Hall Jr. F

Levi Noel Towson Catholic Jr. F

Jonathan Graham Calvert Hall Jr. C

Note: Team selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

girls basketball

Player of the Year

Shamika Williams, Catonsville

For a second straight year, Williams was the top player on the county's top team. Her skill, power and determination led the No. 9 Comets to the county championship and the Class 3A North regional final, where they lost to Western. Williams played almost to exhaustion in the big games, rarely coming off the floor and going full tilt all the time. The 5-foot-8 guard averaged 15.6 points, 8.5 rebounds and 3.9 assists in leading a rebuilding team that was hindered by injury and illness late in the season. She is headed for UMBC.

Coach of the Year

Mike Mohler, Catonsville

Mohler, for the second year in a row, had to replace not only his graduates but also a significant player he had counted on. He built on a solid foundation of Shamika Williams and Shelby Polk and saw Maya Torain improve as an inside threat. The Comets' biggest problem was depth, and his starters played every minute they could. Still, Catonsville went unbeaten in Baltimore County, won the county title and reached the regional final. Mohler earned his 300th career victory and has a 310-89 record.

The team

Name School Cl. Pos.

Chelsea Dukes Towson Catholic Jr. G

Cara Facchina Mount de Sales Jr. G

Janelle Fleet St. Paul's So. G

Devonne Richardson Milford Mill Sr. G

Kelsie Singleton Randallstown Sr. G

Taylor Virden McDonogh Jr. G

Shamika Williams Catonsville Sr. G

Ali Brennan McDonogh Sr. F

Joanna Murray Franklin Sr. F

Shelby Polk Catonsville Sr. F

Note: Team selected by Katherine Dunn after consultation with The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.


Wrestler of the Year

Avi Friedman, Owings Mills

The senior might have been the most dominant wrestler in the area, capping off a 34-0 season by pinning Scott Mantua of River Hill for the Class 2A-1A state championship at 112 pounds. Friedman finished the season with 15 pins and won both the Baltimore County championship and the Class 2A-1A North regional title.

Coach of the Year

Guy Pritzker, Owings Mills

Pritzker broke the state record for career dual victories by earning his 400th in a 64-10 victory over Eastern Tech in January. In a season in which Pritzker thought the Eagles would struggle because of losses to graduation, Owings Mills remained one of the most dominant teams in the metro area. After taking second in the Baltimore County championships competing against teams in higher state classifications, the Eagles won the Class 2A-1A North regional championship and sent 11 wrestlers to the state championships. Owings Mills also reached the state dual-meet finals last month.

The Team

Wt Name School Cl.

103 Kevin Dufour Owings Mills Sr.

103 Eric Friedman St. Paul's Fr.

112 Avi Friedman Owings Mills Sr.

112 Phillipe Walker Woodlawn Sr.

119 Frankie Goodwin Mount St. Joseph Jr.

125 Terrence Owens Milford Mill Sr.

130 Adeleke Ibironke Milford Mill Sr.

130 Albert Woody McDonogh Sr.

140 Eric Filipowicz McDonogh Sr.

145 Curtis Holmes McDonogh Sr.

152 David Fouts Hereford Sr.

152 Colin Schuster Loyola Sr.

160 Pat Downey Loch Raven So.

171 Shane Milam McDonogh Sr.

189 Alex Pagnotta McDonogh Sr.

215 Taylor Gload Hereford Jr.

285 Julio Trujillo Owings Mills Sr.

Note: Team selected by Todd Karpovich after consultation with The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

Boys Performer of the Year

Justin Gross, McDonogh

The Eagles just missed winning the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association championship, but Gross, a junior, did his part. He won three events and ran on a third-place relay team as the Eagles finished second overall, behind champion Mount St. Joseph. Gross placed third in the pentathlon at the Nike Nationals this month in Boston, and McDonogh co-coach Jeff Sanborn foresees a college career in the decathlon for Gross in the next few years.

Boys Coaches of the Year

Jeff Sanborn, Alrick Munroe, McDonogh

Sanborn and Munroe did a nice job of squeezing every point possible out of the Eagles at the IAAM title meet. McDonogh finished second there, losing to Mount St. Joseph by four points and placing ahead of regular-season champion Gilman. Sanborn and Munroe got a lot of help from Justin Gross this season, but they also got the most out of the rest of the team, which paid off in the big meets.

The BOYS team

Name School Cl.

Geoffrey Boggs Pikesville Sr.

Ryan Chelton Hereford Sr.

John Davenport Loyola Sr.

Mike Glassman Loch Raven Sr.

Justin Gross McDonogh Jr.

Matt Jablonski Loyola So.

Davin Jones Franklin So.

Anthony Kiser Western Tech Sr.

Cameron McDearmon Franklin Sr.

Demetrios Pagonis McDonogh Sr.

Chris Swisko Calvert Hall Sr.

Girls Performer of the Year

Kristen Brown, McDonogh

She can do a little bit of everything, as she helped the Eagles roll to the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland team title, winning twice and taking second in another event. Brown can sprint, run hurdles and do the long jump. She is even proficient in the shot put, an unusual combination. The junior combined with senior teammate Amanda Kimbers to score large bunches of points for McDonogh.

girls Coach of the Year

Adam Hittner, Loch Raven

Despite having nine athletes this season, the Raiders finished second at the county meet and third in the Class 2A Central regional meet before taking fifth in the state. Hittner pushed the girls and got them to work as a team.

The GIRLS team

Name School Cl.

Kateri Bowie Randallstown Sr.

Kristen Brown McDonogh Jr.

Jenna Cimino Hereford Sr.

Madeline Dulac McDonogh Jr.

Amanda Kimbers McDonogh Sr.

Sarah Koehn Hereford Sr.

Erin Laschinger Notre Dame Prep Sr.

Rachel Pillion Towson Sr.

Sasha Smallwood Pikesville So.

Anneve Waithe Loch Raven Sr.

Zoey Whittington Catonsville So.

Moriah Young McDonogh Sr.

Note: Teams selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.


Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad