The Baltimore Sun

Student candidates for county school board

A record nine county high school juniors are vying to be the 2009-2010 student member of the Anne Arundel County Board of Education.

The candidates are: Chris Casey, Chesapeake High; Amber Ciemniewski, Kenneth Hickey, Arundel High; April Condon, Antonette Igbenoba, Maya McAllister, Meade High; Sara Fisher, Old Mill High; Maya Mundell, Northeast High; Alena Sanders, Southern High.

The student member is elected by the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils and appointed by the governor for a one-year term, and is the only student in the nation on a local school board with full voting rights.

Preliminary interviews were scheduled for yesterday. A forum with the three finalists will be held at 7 p.m. March 4 at Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center. The CRASC delegates will determine the final candidate whose name will be forwarded to the governor March 11.

Schools' ethics panel

The Anne Arundel County Public Schools' Ethics Panel will meet at 6:30 p.m. tomorrow in Conference Room I at the Parham Building, 2644 Riva Road, Annapolis.

The panel devises, receives and maintains all ethics forms related to school system regulations; provides advisory opinions on ethics matters, including alleged violations; refers findings on complaints and other enforcement matters to the board of education for action; and conducts an information program on ethics regulations.

The panel meets quarterly unless additional meetings are required.

Information: 410-222-5312.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad