Loyola keeps MIAA title streak alive

The Baltimore Sun

Loyola kept its streak alive - although the host McDonogh swimmers made it interesting.

The Dons won the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference championship again last night. Loyola has won or shared the title for 17 straight years. The Dons won it 16 times outright and split the championship with Calvert Hall in 1994.

They won the crown despite a national record-setting swim by McDonogh's Giles Smith in the 50-yard freestyle. His 19.74-second performance was the best ever for a private-school competitor.

Loyola finished with 373.5 points, beating out McDonogh (338.5) on a night when meet records were set in 10 of the 11 events. The Dons and Eagles combined to win all 11 races. Both teams grabbed five victories, and they tied for first in the other race.

"That shows you the speed that was here tonight," Loyola coach Keith Schertle said.

Sean Roddy led Loyola with victories in the 200 individual medley (1:50.81) and the 100 breaststroke (55.66). He also swam on the winning 200 medley relay (1:34.78) - all were meet records.

Hugh Davison of Loyola tied McDonogh's Drew Cosgarea (1:38.89, meet record) in the 200 freestyle. Davison also set a meet record in winning the 100 freestyle (46.26), and Cosgarea later captured the 500 freestyle in a record 4:29.42.

McDonogh's Smith also set a meet record in the 100 butterfly (44.82). Smith and Cosgarea helped on the record-setting 200 freestyle relay (1:24.18).

Greg Pelton was Loyola's other winner. He captured the 100 backstroke in 51.50, the lone non-meet record of the night.

Gilman won the B Conference title, edging St. Paul's.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad