The Baltimore Sun


Player of the Year

Becca Webb, Fallston, hitter

Webb came into her own this season and was a major factor in Fallston's run to the Class 3A East regional finals. The senior helped the No. 6 Cougars (17-1) go unbeaten in the regular season, losing only to top-ranked Centennial in the regional final.

Playing most of the year with tendonitis in her foot, Webb was often double- and triple-blocked at the net. She still managed 183 kills and a .408 hitting percentage.

The main improvement in her game was her ability to place the ball and read defenses. She had a great touch at the net and learned how to hit over the defense. She also contributed at the serving line, scoring 130 service points with 42 aces.

"If she wasn't on the court, we had a meltdown," said Fallston coach Nicole Hoover. "She was the leader on the court and it will be very hard to lose her."

Coach of the Year

Nicole Hoover, Fallston

After leading the Cougars to a 17-1 season this year, Hoover is the Harford County Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Hoover had a major hole to fill with the loss of Rachel Kuegler, The Sun's County Player of the Year last season, but the team never missed a beat. The Cougars advanced to the regional semifinal before losing to top-ranked and undefeated Centennial.

Fallston was dominant in the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference, going 16-0 and dropping only two games. The team did not lose a game until the 14th match of the year, when they dropped one to Class 2A state runner-up Rising Sun.

Hoover has compiled an 80-36 record at the school and taken the volleyball program from being an afterthought to a popular alternative at athlete-rich Fallston.

The Team

Kaitlyn Masters Bel Air Jr. setter

Rachel Holehouse Fallston Fresh. setter

Ashley Grove Harford Tech Sr. hitter

Mariah Ripken Havre de Grace Sr. hitter

Becca Webb Fallston Sr. hitter

Sarah Zeller North Harford senior hitter

Becca Wysocki Bel Air Sr. blocker

Diane Valdivia John Carroll Sr. libero

Note: Team selected by Mike Frainie after consultation with The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad