The Baltimore Sun

Player of the Year

Paige Hanson, Bryn Mawr

The junior forward made a difference in all aspects of the No. 8 Mawrtians' scoring game. With her strong stick skills and quick moves, Hanson could initiate the attack with a play that resulted in a goal several passes down the line. Her play in transition often put the Mawrtians in strong position in the circle, but she was just as effective at the end of the play, finishing with eight goals and six assists.

Coach of the Year

Alex Chambers, Mercy

In her third year with the Magic, Chambers led it to a rare feat - an undefeated season (17-0-2) and the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland C Conference championship. Chambers, who played high school field hockey at Towson, gave the credit to her players, saying they were easy to motivate after missing the title game a year ago. She also said the program, which is just five years old, continued to grow with a record turnout this fall.

The team

Name School Cl. P os.

Evie Freeman Bryn Mawr Jr. Forward

Paige Hanson Bryn Mawr Jr. Forward

Caroline Seats Roland Park So. Forward

Jess Magdeburger Friends Sr. Midfield

Libby Nichols Friends Sr. Midfield

Creaghan Peters Bryn Mawr Jr. Midfield

Kendall Zaharris Bryn Mawr Sr. Midfield

Molly Cornbrooks Roland Park Sr. Defense

Bailey Johnson Bryn Mawr Jr. Defense

Jenny Noon Bryn Mawr Sr. Defense

Hilary Wilson Bryn Mawr Sr. Defense

Abby Bisbee Bryn Mawr Sr. Goalie

Note: Team selected by Katherine Dunn after consultation with

The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad