The Baltimore Sun

Boys Runner of the Year

Will Meadows, Gilman

Meadows was a freshman this season, but he ran like a veteran. He gave the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association a good look at what might be coming over the next three seasons. He finished seventh in the MIAA championship meet, playing a big role in helping Gilman take fourth place. Three days later, he took 34th in the private schools state meet.

Coach of the Year

Joe Duncan, Gilman

Duncan did a good job helping a young Greyhounds team come together and take fourth place in the MIAA A Conference title meet. Under Duncan, who has 20 years of coaching experience and ran at Dartmouth in the late 1970s, Gilman found success in what seemed to be a rebuilding year.

The team

Name School Cl.

Phil August Mount St. Joseph Sr.

Jabulani Blyden Gilman Sr.

Steve Childress Mount St. Joseph Sr.

William Cook Forest Park Sr.

Kenneth Johnson Edmondson So.

Will Meadows Gilman Fr.

Lance McCoy Mervo Sr.

Dave Ozarowski Curley Fr.

Anthony Rogers Mervo Sr.

Alex Waldt Curley So.

Girls Runner of the Year

Brinae Robinson, Western

After a solid freshman season, the sophomore won the Baltimore City cross country championship and finished 12th in the Class 3A North regional meet. Robinson is also a force in track for the Doves.

Coach of the Year

Tim Smith, Institute of Notre Dame

Smith led the Indians to the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland B Conference regular-season title and a second-place finish in the conference meet.

The team

Name School Cl.

Abby Gatch IND Sr.

Julie Gessler IND Sr.

Gabrielle Harbin Mercy Sr.

Melissa Hexter Bryn Mawr Fr.

Syrita Hunt Western So.

Maddy Jackson IND Sr.

Selena Guerrero-Martin Poly So.

Brinae Robinson Western So.

Sara Steinmetz IND Sr.

Brittany Williams Western Sr.

Note: Teams selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with

The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad