The Baltimore Sun

Player of the Year

Theo Matthai, Bryn Mawr

A four-year starter on varsity, Matthai led the Mawrtians to a 12-8 record in their first year in the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference this season. The senior hitter had 12 kills in the Maryland/D.C. private schools tournament semifinals to help the Mawrtians upset No. 8 St. Paul's. Matthai is a two-year team captain, and it's no coincidence that Bryn Mawr's fortunes in volleyball began to change when she arrived at the school. Matthai finished her senior season with 241 kills, a .864 serving percentage and 41 aces.

Coach of the Year

Tim Dunbar, Bryn Mawr

In what figured to be a rebuilding year, the Mawrtians entered the IAAM A Conference this season after a successful run in the B Conference, and Dunbar led them to a 12-8 record. Their biggest win was in the Maryland/D.C. private schools tournament, in which the Mawrtians upset St. Paul's in the semifinals. Dunbar, in his sixth season, has guided Bryn Mawr to a 54-25 record over the past four seasons after going 7-30 the first two. After starting 1-5 this season, partly because of injuries, Bryn Mawr went 11-3 down the stretch.

The Team

Name School Cl. P os.

Adreina McCullum Poly So. S.

Tiffany White Digital Harbor Jr. S

Asia Bailey Western Sr. H

Cleo Baker Bryn Mawr Sr. H

Caitlin Bopp Institute of Notre Dame Sr. H

Maggie Marion Mercy Sr. H

Theo Matthai Bryn Mawr Sr. H

Sierra Myles Seton Keough Sr. L

Note: Team selected by Mike Frainie after consultation with

The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad