The Baltimore Sun

Player of the Year

Marquez Fernandez, McDonogh

It's not often that a defender is the most dangerous player on the field, but Fernandez was a key for McDonogh at both ends, leading the Eagles to their second consecutive Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference title. Fernandez, considered one of the top high school players in the nation, scored 10 goals and helped the Eagles record 16 shutouts. He also had the winning goal in a 2-1 victory over Archbishop Curley in the conference semifinals. Fernandez, a junior, has drawn interest from the U.S. National Team and participated in the Adidas/ESP camp over the summer, which invites the top 110 high school players in the country. McDonogh's only loss this season was to Perry Hall, a game in which Fernandez did not play.

Coach of the Year

Danny Skelton, Perry Hall

Skelton continues to build Perry Hall into one of the top teams in the state. The Gators finished 15-2 and reached the Class 4A state final for the second consecutive year. Perry Hall started the season strong with a 2-1 victory over No. 1 McDonogh. The Gators appeared to get better as the season progressed and avenged last season's loss to Magruder in the state championship game by beating the Colonels in this year's state semifinals. Skelton said his team practiced as well as it played.

The team

Name School Cl . Po s.

Julian Griggs McDonogh So. Forward

Mamadou Kansaye McDonogh Jr. Forward

Jimmy Nugent Parkville Sr. Forward

Geaton Caltabiano Mount St. Joseph Jr. Midfield

David Vaeth Patapsco Sr. Midfield

Marquez Fernandez McDonogh Jr. Defense

Joe Meyer McDonogh Jr. Defense

Phil Saunders Perry Hall Sr. Defense

Jon Stephenson Mount St. Joseph Sr. Defense

Joe Vidmar McDonogh Sr. Defense

Zach Wenger Calvert Hall So. Defense

Zach Kane Perry Hall Sr. Goalkeeper

Note: Team selected by Todd Karpovich after consultation with

The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad