The Baltimore Sun

1. Dunbar

Last season: 14-0, ranked No. 2

* The defending Class 1A state champs are motivated after finishing No. 2 in The Sun's final poll last year. Senior running back-defensive back Tavon Austin, the two-time All-Metro Offensive Player of the Year, will lead the offense, while linebacker Tevin Brown is the key on defense.

2. River Hill

Last season: 14-0, No.1

* Seven starters return on offense, including running back Michael Campanaro and quarterback Luke Hostetler. Five on defense return for the Hawks, who outscored opponents 551-21 last season.

3. Loyola

Last season: 10-1, No. 3

* The defending MIAA A Conference co-champs have eight offensive and seven defensive starters back, including quarterback Leon Kinnard, running back Terence Garvin and linebacker Matt Heacock.

4. Hereford

Last season: 13-1, No. 5

* The Class 3A state finalist returns half of its starters. Running backs Nick DePaula and Hasani Cromwell lead the offense, while lineman Ron Rose, defensive back Peter Green and linebacker Richie Nodonly anchor the defense.

5. Arundel

Last season: 13-1, No. 4

* Senior wide receiver Alec Lemon scored 13 touchdowns last year and will be joined by six other offensive starters from last season's Class 4A state finalist.

6. Eastern Tech

Last season: 13-1, No. 6

* The Mavericks lost six starters on offense, but scoring points shouldn't be a problem with quarterback Joe Jones and running back Darian Conners.

7. Mount St. Joseph

Last season: 6-4, No. 7

* With nine defensive starters and four more on offense from last season's MIAA A Conference co-champs, coach Chip Armstrong's team should be strong. The entire secondary returns, as does senior quarterback Chris Costabile.

8. Perry Hall

Last season: 10-2, No. 10

* University of Maryland-bound senior Dave Stinebaugh could see duty at as many as four positions - tight end, wide receiver, safety and linebacker. The team will be coached by Keith Robinson, formerly of Overlea.

9. McDonogh

Last season: 6-4, No. 8

* Quarterback Rudy Johnson and wide receiver-linebacker Curtis Holmes are among 10 starters back from last season's team that narrowly lost to MIAA A Conference co-champion Loyola and beat co-champion Mount St. Joseph.

10. Edmondson

Last season: 9-3, No. 14

* Coach Dante Jones is moving senior quarterback Carroll Washington to wide receiver and inserting junior Jerry Lovelocke at quarterback. He also has 10 starters back on defense.

11. Broadneck

Last season: 9-3, No. 9

* Kyle Colleran will lead the triple option for the third year. The defense will be led by Hussam Ouri, Derrick McGee and Mike Rindos.

12. Old Mill

Last season: 8-3, No. 11

* The Patriots will have a balanced offensive attack as they attempt to build on their Class 4A East semifinal appearance last season. Among Old Mill's 13 returning starters are quarterback Grant Enders and linebackers Justin Mullins, Joey Hall and Randy Spann.

13. Wilde Lake

* Last season: 10-3, No. 12

The Wildecats will try to send coach Doug DuVall out a winner in his 36th and final season. Senior quarterback-defensive back Dan March will lead the attack on both sides of the ball.

14. Poly

Last season: 8-3, unranked

* Poly was a Class 2A North semifinalist a year ago, and coach Roger Wrenn said his team is capable of more this season. The Engineers return seven defensive players who started at some point last season and five offensive starters.

15. Joppatowne

Last season: 11-2, No. 13

The Mariners lost a number of seniors, but they still have enough talent to challenge for the Class 1A East crown. Among those returning is linebacker Jake McGinnis.

Others considered

* Archbishop Curley (9-1, unranked), Gilman (4-5, unranked), North Carroll (8-3, unranked), North Harford (10-2, unranked)

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad