Secret Supper is June 17th. Get your tickets before they sell out!


The Baltimore Sun


Performer of the Year Amanda Deller Aberdeen

She turned in the county's top individual performance of the season at the state meet. The junior captured both the shot put and discus in Class 3A. Her throw of 41 feet, 0.5 inches tied the Class 3A record for the state meet, and she won the discus with a throw of 119-10.

Deller's effort carried Aberdeen to a 10th place finish as she scored 20 of the Eagles' 22 points. She made a significant late-season improvement, and the question now is how much further Deller can go next year as a senior.

Coach of the Year Rob Torres John Carroll

He did a good job of mixing experienced talent like seniors Erika Stasakova and Nicole Clarke with younger runners like Elizabeth Tauber and others to keep the Patriots competitive in the tough Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland.

John Carroll wasn't able to keep up with champion McDonogh - no one was - but the Patriots finished a solid third at the conference's title meet. The big question is how well the Patriots' younger runners can now step up to replace Stasakova and Clarke. However, they got plenty of experience this year.

The team

Name School CL

Sara Bailey C.M. Wright Sr.

Evan Campbell Fallston Jr.

Nicole Clarke John Carroll Sr.

Amanda Deller Aberdeen Jr.

Jill Dozier Fallston Jr.

Jess Harlee Fallston So.

Stephanie Johnson Aberdeen Jr.

Lyndsie Ludwig C.M. Wright Sr.

Sarah Meehan N. Harford Sr.

Lindsay Smith C.M. Wright Jr.

Erika Stasakova John Carroll Sr.

Morgan Struve C.M. Wright Sr.

Elizabeth Tauber John Carroll Fr.

Delmarshae Walker Aberdeen Sr.

Vanessa Whiteford Aberdeen Jr.

Note: Team selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad