THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

Tennis players of the year

The Baltimore Sun

Tennis players of the year Girls Lindsay Katz Roland Park

Katz won the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference's No. 1 singles championship. It was the third consecutive year the junior advanced to the finals.

In the prior two finals, she was matched up against last year's All-Metro Player of the Year Annie Wu of Bryn Mawr, who finished her career with three consecutive titles.

Katz is expected to be one of the most dominant players in the metro area again next season.

Boys Alexander Centenari McDonogh

Centenari was undefeated in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association at No. 1 singles and in McDonogh dual matches. He finished his high school career with a 6-0, 6-0 victory over John Carroll's Tim Lozinak for the MIAA A Conference No. 1 singles championship.

The senior finished second at the Woodberry Forest Invitational tournament in April in Charlottesville, Va., which featured eight teams, mostly from Washington and Virginia. He finished third at the New England/Mid-Atlantic Invitational that had 16 teams from eight states at the end of April. His overall record was 26-2.

"He and [Alex] Sidney teamed at Woodberry to win the doubles championship - their only foray into doubles this season, and a very successful one," McDonogh coach Laddie Levy said.

Boys coach Laddie Levy McDonogh

Under Levy, McDonogh beat Gilman in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference championship, ending the Greyhounds' two-year reign as conference champions.

Gilman had beaten McDonogh in the previous two championship matches. Alexander Centenari and Alex Sidney won at Nos. 1 and 2 singles. Gilman was at full strength, with a previously ailing Will Faison joining Jay Barrett at No. 2 doubles, but Jake Lazer and Tommy Sinnott were unfazed, besting them in two straight sets for the Eagles.

The championship is McDonogh's 15th in 22 years.

Girls coach Kate Brendler Bryn Mawr

Bryn Mawr finished 10-2 and won the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference tournament championship. Bryn Mawr was the IAAM's regular season co-champion with Notre Dame Prep.

This was the third straight conference title and the fourth in five years for the Mawrtians.

Sophomore Erica Choo was runner-up in the conference singles to Lindsay Katz of Roland Park. Senior Jenna Feldman and junior Clare Gottsch upset the Nos. 1 and 2 seeds on the way to winning the No. 2 doubles title, and seniors Gussie MacLaughlin and Maggie Li completed their undefeated season by winning the No. 1 doubles championship. It was Bryn Mawr's first doubles championship since 1998.

Brendler also was named All-Metro Coach of the Year last season.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad