THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!


The Baltimore Sun


Player of the Year

Jordan Eades


Overpowering on the mound as well at the plate, the junior pitcher was a significant part of a record-breaking season for the Indians, who went undefeated in the regular season before winning their first county championship and then claiming the Class 3A North crown.

Eades, a second-team selection last year, finished the season 21-1 -- losing for the only time against Atholton in the state semifinals -- and allowed just 10 earned runs with 236 strikeouts in 133 innings. She was equally important in the lineup, where she batted third and hit .484 with 33 RBIs and six homers. Franklin coach Ed Lahay said his standout made major strides in her three years on varsity with improved focus and drive.

Coach of the Year

Bridget Collins


The Eagles (13-4) closed out the season on an eight-game winning streak that was capped by a 5-3 win over Notre Dame Prep to claim the program's first Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland B Conference championship. A tough extra-inning loss against Chapelgate Christian -- the Eagles' fourth consecutive setback -- during the regular season proved to be a turning point, as the team didn't lose again.

With a pitch-by-pitch, inning-by-inning approach, the Eagles rolled into the playoffs and then avenged their loss to Chapelgate with an 8-2 semifinal win before coming back from a 2-0 deficit to beat Notre Dame Prep for the crown. Collins, a 1990 McDonogh graduate in her seventh season, carried a roster of 16 players, with each making a positive contribution. The team

Name School CL P

Jessica Butler Towson C. So. P

Jordan Eades Franklin Jr. P

Kara Malvaso Sparrows Pt. Sr. P

Lauren Scrivener Eastern Tech Sr. P

Katie Blackston Western Tech Sr. C

Allison Bittner Perry Hall So. IF

Kristen Fassler Western Tech So. IF

Jackie Merkel Mt. de Sales Sr. IF

Marissa Ronan Franklin Jr. IF

Christina Crawford Mt. de Sales Sr. OF

Abby Wilson Catonsville Jr. OF

Kelsea Zeglin Perry Hall Sr. OF

Note: Team selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad