Carroll firefighters honored

The Baltimore Sun

The Carroll County Volunteer Emergency Services Association inducted three longtime firefighters into its Hall of Fame yesterday during its annual convention in Sykesville.

Donald Shauck and Marion Davidson Jr., both from Reese & Community Volunteer Fire Company; and John E. "Jack" Wagner from Pleasant Valley Community Fire Company, were the 2008 Hall of Fame inductees.

A 49-year member of Reese, Shauck served on numerous committees, was chaplain from 1966 to 1967, was a trustee for seven years, county association delegate for 17 years and company fundraiser.

Davidson was Reese's first emergency medical services captain in 1981, and has been company president, vice president, first lieutenant, assistant chief, chief for 15 years, treasurer, trustee and a member of numerous committees. He also has been a county association delegate, and was president and vice president of the former Carroll County Firemen's Association's Chief's Association.

Wagner, a 30-year member of Pleasant Valley, has been involved in fire and rescue response, and administration and fundraising for the fire company. He has been company EMS lieutenant, vice president, president, board member, treasurer, vehicle foreman and member of many committees. He is active on the county level in multiple capacities, as well as being involved in the Maryland State Firemen's Association.

During the association's business portion of the convention, new officers were elected for 2008-2009.

Mark Bilger of Hampstead succeeded Richard Green Sr. of Gamber as president, while Marianne Warehime of Lineboro succeeded Ralph Dull of Manchester as secretary. Warehime is the only woman to hold two offices in the association. First vice president is Doug Alexander from Mount Airy, and Dennis Brothers from Gamber is treasurer. Charles Barnhart Jr. of Taneytown is chaplain.

A nomination from the floor for second vice president is expected to be acted on at the regular June meeting.

The Ladies Auxiliary to CCVESA also held its annual convention, electing the following officers: Barbara Zepp, Winfield, president; Kristine Rodgers, Harney, first vice president; Kim Thomas, Pleasant Valley, second vice president; Dorothy Rue, New Windsor, secretary; Wanda Schaeffer, Reese, treasurer; Janet Barnes, Winfield, historian; and Wanda Sparks, Hampstead, chaplain.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad