2 in row for Mustangs

The Baltimore Sun

C. Milton Wright repeated as baseball champion of the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference with a 10-0 rout of Havre de Grace last night at Cal Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen.

Senior left-hander Mike Rappazzo (7-0) pitched a four-hitter, striking out four and allowing no walks on only 56 pitches.

"I was kidding with Mike in the middle of the game and asked him if he was going to crack a sweat today," first-year coach Joe Stetka said.

"When you hit your spots like he does, you can do that [keep your pitch count down]. Mike pitched a heck of a ballgame. We hit a little bit of a speed bump a couple of weeks ago, but now all of a sudden our bats are alive and we're getting good strong pitching and defense."

No. 7 C. Milton Wright (15-4), winner of the conference's Chesapeake Division, defeated Rising Sun, 6-4, in last year's final. In repeating this year in the fifth-annual final, the Mustangs became the first team to win back-to-back titles.

The Warriors (11-7) won the Susquehanna Division to reach the championship game for the second time. They lost to Fallston in 2005 and could not solve Rappazzo yesterday.

"Everything I was throwing was staying down - my fastball, curveball," Rappazzo said "It was just an all-around great game by everybody."

The Mustangs scored in every inning with their 14-hit attack and had four two-run innings before ending the game in six innings on Jordan Wlo- darczyk's single with the bases loaded.

"I was seeing the ball well today," said Wlodarczyk, who went 3-for-4 with four RBIs. "Our defense played really well today, and Mike threw really well. It feels good to be the first team to repeat as champion. We're really excited for the playoffs that start Friday."

Brad Markey doubled in the fifth for the Mustangs' only extra-base hit, and Rappazzo helped himself with two hits and three RBIs.

Markey and Brandon Raab had two hits each.


Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad