Tigers women take CAA title

The Baltimore Sun

Nikki Marcinik scored six goals and the visiting Towson women opened with a 5-0 run yesterday to upset No. 1 seed William and Mary, 16-7, and claim the Colonial Athletic Association tournament title.

Marcinik (Southern-Anne Arundel) scored three straight times during a two-minute stretch of the second period for the third-seeded Tigers (13-5).

Towson, ranked 18th, became the third No. 3 seed to capture the title since 1996.

Towson's Mandy Corry was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Performer after recording 22 saves and allowing 14 goals in two games. Clare Dennis (Catonsville) scored the final goal for the No. 19 Tribe (10-9).

National women

No. 2 Northwestern 14, No. 8 Vanderbilt 3 -- Hilary Bowen scored four goals and Hannah Nielsen had two goals and five assists as the Wildcats (17-1) won their sixth straight American Lacrosse Conference tournament.

State men

Gettysburg 12, Washington College 7 -- The host Bullets (15-2) went on an 8-0 run that spanned the first and second quarters to win their fifth straight Centennial Conference title. Nick Gregory led the Shoremen (13-3) with three goals. Nine players scored for Gettysburg.

CCBC-Essex 12, Howard Community College 9 -- Neal Barthelme (Dulaney) scored four goals to power the Knights (9-6) past the Dragons (14-3) in the Region XX championship. CCBC-Essex advanced to the NJCAA tournament final four in Nassau, N.Y., on Saturday, where it will face second seed Herkimer at 3 p.m. at Mitchell Athletic Complex. The tournament Most Valuable Players were Andrew Reinhart (Calvert Hall) on offense and Tony Kikola (Kenwood) on defense. Kikola recorded 13 saves.

National men

No. 1 Duke 16, St. John's 9 -- Zack Greer set an NCAA-record 197 goals to power the host Blue Devils (16-1) past the Red Storm (2-11). Greer has 56 goals this season. North Carolina State's Stan Cockerton had set the mark of 193 goals in 1980. Duke has won eight in a row and 18 straight at home.

No. 4 Notre Dame 9, No. 17 Ohio State 2 -- Joey Kemp made 18 saves, and the Fighting Irish (13-2) claimed the Great Western Lacrosse League tournament title. Notre Dame has won a season-high five straight games.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad