Don’t miss the Carroll County home show this weekend!

Sun named 'Newspaper of the Year' in the region

The Baltimore Sun

The Sun was named "Newspaper of the Year" for the third straight time by the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association yesterday, after winning 25 first- or second-place awards in the group's annual competition.

Coverage of last April's shootings at Virginia Tech and a series on how area residents were losing their homes because of unpaid utility bills were among 11 first-place awards given yesterday to Sun writers, photographers and designers.

The 11 first-place awards, for work published in 2007, were the most among the region's high-circulation daily newspapers. The Washington Times placed second, with nine, followed by The Washington Post, with eight.

"Our top showing in this contest is a reflection of the journalistic excellence going on in all parts of our newsroom," said Sun editor Tim Franklin, who also praised it as a reflection of "the depth of talent and commitment to good work in all facets of the paper."

The Sun's first-place winners were:

Local Column, Critical Thinking: Jean Marbella, "Keeping score on taxes no easy task."

Local Column, Feature or Humor: Gregory Kane, "Parren Mitchell did what he had to do to help others."

Spot News: Staff, "Virginia Tech shootings."

Feature Story: Abigail Tucker, Monica Lopossay, "A doctor at war."

Public Service: June Arney, Fred Schulte, "Malfeasance/unfairness in municipal tax sale auctions."

Photo Series: Andr? F. Chung, "The big game."

Sports Story: Childs Walker, "He embodied Orioles magic."

Arts/Entertainment: Jonathan Pitts, "Alive with the Dead."

Page 1 Design: Jay Judge, "April 17, 2007" (part of the Virginia Tech shootings coverage).

Feature Page Design: Joannah Hill, "Man of the hours."

Sports Page Design: Derrick Barker, "Buffalo blues."

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad