Full coverage: Mayor Pugh's 'Healthy Holly' books, UMMS board deals

Kindergarten regis tration starts tomorrow

The Baltimore Sun

Anne Arundel County Public Schools prekindergarten and kindergarten registration for the 2008-2009 school year will be held at county elementary schools tomorrow through Friday during regular business hours.

The prekindergarten program selects 4-year-olds based on economic and educational needs. Children who are 4 years old by Sept. 1, 2008, are eligible to apply.

A list of schools offering prekindergarten is available at www.aacps.org/earlychildhood.

Children who live in Maryland and are 5 years old by Sept. 1, 2008, are required to attend public or private kindergarten. Registration occurs at the assigned school.

When registering a child for prekindergarten or kindergarten, parents must bring the following:

The child's original birth certificate or birth record;

A copy of the child's immunization record;

Two proofs of residency (rental or mortgage agreement and current utility bill).

Those applying for prekindergarten due to economic need must provide verification of total combined household income (a 1040 federal tax statement) and additional sources of income such as child support, temporary cash assistance or rental income.

Additional information about immunization requirements, alternative programs and waivers is available at www.aacps.org/earlychildhood.

School board candi dates to speak at hearings

Due to the overwhelming number of candidates, the School Board Nominating Commission of Anne Arundel County has announced an expanded schedule for public hearings.

Twelve people are running for the at-large seat, while six have applied for the newly created seat representing District 32 in the northwest portion of the county.

Hearings will be held at 7 p.m. tomorrow and April 28 in county council chambers in the Arundel Center, 44 Calvert Street, Annapolis.

The first will solicit public testimony on nine of the at-large candidates: Alison L. Asti of Pasadena; Marc F. Boensel of Annapolis; Walter N. Chitwood of Annapolis; Thomas H. Frank of Crofton; Maria D. Huguley of Severna Park; Kevin L. Jackson of Edgewater; Joseph J. Janosky of Churchton; Tricia L. Johnson of Davidsonville; and Evelyn C. Mason of Glen Burnie.

The second will focus on the other three at-large board applicants: Paul G. Rudolph of Severna Park; Roberta L. (Kitty) St. Romain of Annapolis; and Richard A. Streeter of Pasadena; and all of the District 32 applicants: Teresa Milio Birge of Odenton; Lora Espersen of Severn; Simeon M. Georgiou of Severn; Robert V. Hull of Millersville; Carol J. McCullough of Linthicum; and Curtis Muhammad of Severn.

A third hearing will be held at 7 p.m. May 5 to receive public testimony on individual applicants, while a fourth at 7 p.m. May 12 will be the commission's deliberations and vote in open session on who to recommend to the governor for potential appointment to the School Board. A place has not yet been determined for these meetings.

Inquires should be directed to sbncacc@gmail.com.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad