The Baltimore Sun

Boys basketball

Player of the Year

Obi Ukwuoma Long Reach

The 6-foot-4 senior forward did a lot of everything to lead the Lightning (25-3) to the county championship and a surprise trip to the Class 3A state title game. Possessing a strong inside-outside game, Ukwuoma averaged 16 points, 10 rebounds and 4.5 assists this season. As a captain, he brought leadership and confidence to the floor and made his teammates better. In the Lightning's 62-59 upset win over then-No. 1 Lake Clifton in the state semifinal, Ukwuoma led the way with 15 points and six rebounds. Coach of the Year Marcus Lewis Marriotts Ridge

In the program's third varsity season, the Mustangs enjoyed an impressive breakthrough that kept the team in the hunt for a spot in the county championship game until the final days of the regular season. With standout senior guard Kevin Seker providing much of the offense and an experienced group that returned intact from last season's four-win team, the Mustangs finished with an 18-5 mark this season. Lewis was able to get the most out of each player, carefully defining roles and getting the team to play as one. The team

Player School Cls. P

Chris Baker Hammond Jr G

Tanodrio Bogues Centennial Jr G

Deyon Cook Atholton Sr G

Kameron Crump Howard Sr G

Deon Queen Long Reach Sr G

Kevin Seker Marriotts Ridge Sr G

Bruce Richardson Glenelg Sr F

Obi Ukwuoma Long Reach Sr F

Anthony Jones Atholton Sr C

Billy Reybold Reservoir Sr C

Note: The team was selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Girls basketball

Player of the Year

Miriam McKenzie Oakland Mills

The 5-foot-8 senior guard, who also is the All-Metro Player of the Year, enjoyed a record-breaking career and helped turn the Oakland Mills program around. The Loyola-bound McKenzie became the school's all-time leading scorer (1,744 career points), as she averaged 28 points to lead the Scorpions to an 18-5 season. Scoring was only one aspect of McKenzie's all-around game, as she recorded 21 double doubles and four triple doubles - averaging 13.6 rebounds, 4.4 steals and four assists. When McKenzie first came to Oakland Mills, the Scorpions were coming off a five-win season. Coach of the Year Scott Robinson Mount Hebron

With a defense-first approach and clearly defined roles for his players, Robinson guided the Vikings to a 28-0 season that was highlighted by a 55-40 win over Poly in the Class 2A state championship game. It was the program's seventh state title and first under Robinson, who is 198-62 (.762) in 11 seasons. The Vikings had only senior forward Deanna Dydynski returning as a starter, but Robinson made sure other players were prepared to step up when given the chance to start. The team was balanced on offense, never caught out of position on defense and was at its best in the closing minutes of close games. The team

Player School Cls. P

Brittany Bowen Mount Hebron Jr G

Briana Bradford Reservoir Jr G

Miriam McKenzie Oakland Mills Sr G

Elie Snyder Atholton Sr G

Aja Wallpher Mount Hebron So G

Taylor Chapman Atholton Sr F

Deanna Dydynski Mount Hebron Sr F

Alicia Seelaus River Hill Jr F

Nyree Williams Howard Jr F

Ryan Dannelly River Hill Jr C

Note: The team was selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

boys track

Performer of the Year Joey Thompson Howard

Thompson found plenty of success in his first season of cross country last fall, as he won a state title. In the winter, he picked up where he left off. The senior won the county, Class 3A East regional and state titles in the 1,600 meters.

Thompson also won the 800 at the state meet in one of the best performances of the night.

Coach of the Year

Earl Lauer River Hill

Lauer guided his boys and girls teams to a sweep of the Class 2A state titles in cross country and helped the boys remain competitive this winter.

The Hawks competed in some tough meets to get ready for the postseason. They finished third in the county and Class 2A Central region and seventh in the state despite not having as big a team as some other schools.

The team

Name School Class

Kyle Andrews Oakland Mills Sr

Kadeem Bailey Atholton Sr

Nate Gant Hammond Sr

Ian Gross Hammond Sr

Jackson Jordan Mount Hebron Sr

Sean McCarthy Mount Hebron Sr

Craig Morgan River Hill Jr

Connor Pencek Glenelg Jr

Austin Rector Reservoir Sr

Joey Thompson Howard Sr

Zach Weinstein Mount Hebron Jr

Andrew Young Wilde Lake Sr

Note: Team selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

girls track

Performer of the Year Funmi Alabi Long Reach

The junior has become one of the area's top sprinters. Alabi set a meet record by winning the Class 3A 55-meter race in 7.0 seconds, which was the state's fastest time this winter, according to

She swept the county, Class 3A East regional and state titles with ease in that event and also helped the Lightning in relays.

Coach of the Year Leslie Thomas Long Reach

Thomas helped guide Long Reach to second place in the county meet before the Lightning captured the Class 3A East regional crown and taking seventh in the state meet.

The team

Name School Class

Funmi Alabi Long Reach Jr

Elyse Borisko Howard So

Rhema Davis Marriotts Ridge Jr

Anna Demaree River Hill Fr

Eryn Donaldson Mount Hebron So

Katie Harman River Hill Jr

Joceyln Henline Marriotts Ridge Sr

Rachel Holtzman Atholton Sr

Angela Humpbert Hammond Fr

Dana Perry Howard Sr

Laura Shoemaker Wilde Lake Jr

Tayler Wheeler Oakland Mills So

Note: Team selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.


Wrestler of the Year

Dan Bichner Glenelg

The 135-pound senior, who became the eighth wrestler to win four Howard County titles, went on to capture the Class 2A-1A state crown to help lead the Gladiators to their first state title. Bichner, who will wrestle at Maryland next year, went 37-3 this season to finish his career with a 137-13 mark. Bichner was a state runner-up in his previous two seasons.

Coach of the Year

Scott Delpo Glenelg

After a disappointing third-place finish at states last year, the senior-laden Gladiators made amends by winning the program's first Class 2A-1A state championship. Delpo, in his second season at Glenelg after spending the previous six at Franklin, beefed up the schedule to keep the team focused and peaking at just the right time. The Gladiators responded, getting individual state titles from Dan Bichner, Chris Stinnett and Tim Chase to easily outpoint runner-up Southern of Garrett County, 134.5-105. The team

Weight Name School Cls.

103 Kevin Beck Atholton Jr

112 Scott Mantua River Hill Jr

119 Dan LeRoy Centennial Jr

125 Brian Marcoux Glenelg Sr

130 Nathan White River Hill Jr

135 Dan Bichner Glenelg Sr

140 Chris Stinnett Glenelg Sr

145 Jovan Saunders Oakland Mills Sr

145 Kyle Werner Atholton Sr

152 Tim Chase Glenelg Sr

160 Alex Hufnagel Glenelg Sr

171 Tyler Breitschwerdt Reservoir Jr

189 Malcolm Stennett Atholton Sr

215 Mitch Cowger Hammond Sr

215 Mike Massarelli Atholton Sr

285 Mike Santiago Oakland Mills Sr

Note: The team was selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad