Millersville senior wins ACLU award

The Baltimore Sun

A high school senior from Millersville has been named one of the 15 recipients of the national American Civil Liberties Union's 2008 Youth Activist Scholarship contest.

Chip Gibbons, a recent intern with the Maryland affiliate and a champion for the First Amendment at Severna Park High School, will receive a $5,000 college scholarship.

"Chip is one of the most concerned and aware interns we've ever had," said Amy Cruice, legal program administrator for the ACLU of Maryland. "Since his first day at the ACLU, it was clear that Chip strongly believed in defending the Bill of Rights and the rights of all people from his high school to Maryland's prisons to Guantanamo Bay."

Teen, 16, tapped for education board

Collin Wojciechowski, 16, a junior at Chesapeake High School, has been elected as the 2008-2009 student member of the board of education.

About 300 county middle and high school students - one of the biggest electorates in the history of the process - voted Wednesday during the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils meeting at South River High School.

Shelby Heinecke of Annapolis High School and Jarrett Ley of Severna Park High School were also finalists for the seat. Wojciechowski's name will be forwarded to Gov. Martin O'Malley for approval.

If confirmed, Wojciechowski will be the second Chesapeake High student on the board since students began serving one-year terms in 1974. Upon confirmation, he would succeed Severna Park High School senior Sage Snider.

Wojciechowski also attended Bodkin Elementary School and Chesapeake Bay Middle School. He is a member of the Chesapeake cross-country and indoor track teams.

4 named finalists for teacher of year

Four finalists have been named for Arundel County Public School Teacher of the Year.

Culled from a pool of 37 nominees, they are: Jane Robinson Ciupek of Hillsmere Elementary School; Clayton Culp of Broadneck High School; Kathryn Davis of Southern High School; and Amy Weissenburger of Meade High School.

All of the teachers will be honored at the 22nd annual Excellence in Education Awards ceremony April 24.

Schools Superintendent Kevin M. Maxwell and Sandie Anderson, education committee chairwoman at the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce, an event sponsor, surprised the finalists recently by popping into classrooms with bouquets of flowers.

School board to hold meeting

The School Board Nominating Commission of Anne Arundel County will hold a public meeting at 7 p.m. Tuesday in the State House Office Building complex (6 Bladen St.) in Annapolis. Room location will be determined later.

The meeting's purpose will be administrative as well as to hear from several guest panelists on the role of board of education members in Anne Arundel.

The public is welcome to provide comments not in excess of five minutes on the topic after the panel.

Inquiries should be sent to

Hundreds attend Ca reer Expo

More than 700 county middle and high school students attended the inaugural Career Expo sponsored by the 21st Century Education Foundation.

Representatives of more than 30 businesses and government agencies were on hand at the Doubletree Hotel in Annapolis on March 15 to tell students how to prepare for careers.

Organizers had hoped for 300 students, and the turnout has the foundation, which seeks to provide partnerships among Anne Arundel schools and the local business and government community, already planning to double the exhibits and space next year.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad