3 students in finals for seat on board

The Baltimore Sun

Three students remain in the running to be named the 2008-2009 student member of the Anne Arundel County Board of Education after a panel whittled the list from five nominees.

The finalists, all juniors, are Shelby Heinecke of Annapolis High School; Collin Wojciechowski of Chesapeake High School and Jarrett Ley of Severna Park High School.

The board's student member is elected by the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils and appointed by the governor. The student member serves a one-year term during his or her senior year and is one of the few in the nation with full voting rights.

The three candidates will participate in a Meet the Candidates Night at 7 p.m. tonight at Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center in Millersville.

The CRASC election to determine the candidate whose name will be forwarded to the governor will be held on March 19 at South River High School.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad