THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!


The Baltimore Sun

Dr. Karen Kauffman, associate professor at the University of Maryland School of Nursing, has been appointed chairwoman of the Department of Family and Community Health. She holds a Ph.D. and a Master of Science from the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Arthur C. Jee of Laurel has been elected to a second, two-year term as a member of the board of trustees of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons. Jee represents the jurisdictions of Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

St. Agnes Hospital has named Margaret "Maggie" Valcourt as senior nursing supervisor. Before joining St. Agnes, she worked at Howard County General Hospital.

Julie Soutar has joined St. Joseph Medical Center as physician services liaison. A graduate of the Community College of Baltimore County's Essex campus, Soutar previously worked at Aetna as a network account manager.

Dr. Christopher V. Plowe, a professor of medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine and chief of the malaria section at its Center for Vaccine Development, has been named a 2007 Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator for his research on malaria vaccines.

Dr. Robert R. Bass received the Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award during the annual meeting of the American College of Emergency Physicians. Bass is executive director of the Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems, an independent state agency that oversees the state's trauma and EMS system.

Dr. Renee Fox of the University of Maryland's School of Medicine and Dr. Deborah E. Trautman of the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing are among the eight health professionals named Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellows for 2007-2008. Fellows spend a year working in Washington in a congressional office or the executive branch.

Deborah Gross, a nationally recognized expert in children's mental health, has been named the Leonard and Helen R. Stulman Chair in Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing.

The Anne Arundel Medical Center Foundation has appointed four new members to its board of directors. The new board includes JoAnn DeCesaris of Davidsonville; Henry N. "Hank" Libby of Annapolis; Charles E. Moore Jr. of Davidsonville; and Nancy Merrill of Annapolis. The board members will serve 2007-2008.

St. Joseph Medical Center has appointed Eva Gonzales the director of the new Diabetes Management Center. Gonzales is a registered dietitian with board certification and has a background in disease management. She and her team provide diabetes management, education and care to inpatients, as well as those who attend diabetes classes at St. Joseph.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad