By the numbers

The Baltimore Sun

3 -- Top 15 teams with new coaches - C. Milton Wright's Bonnie Schnell, Hereford's Julia Martin and Winters Mill's Carli Harris.

6 -- Private school crowns won by defending Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference champion Bryn Mawr since 1997.

34 -- Goals scored two years ago by Severna Park's Hayley Rausch, who returns to action this fall after sitting out last season with a torn anterior cruciate ligament.

52 -- Championships won by the four most successful programs in state tournament history - Severna Park (16), Pocomoke (14), Bethesda-Chevy Chase (13) and Fallston (nine). The foursome accounts for 39 percent of the 133 state titles awarded since 1975.

65 -- State championship games decided by a single goal - of a total of 122. Eleven other finals have ended in ties.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad