CUBS -- Activated P Ryan Dempster from 15-day DL. Recalled IF Scott Moore from Triple-A Iowa. Placed 1B Daryle Ward on 15-day DL. Optioned P Sean Gallagher to Iowa.


MARLINS -- Sent P Wes Obermueller to Triple-A Albuquerque.

NATIONALS -- Placed P Jason Simontacchi on 15-day DL.


ORIOLES -- Activated P Steve Trachsel from 15-day DL.

REDS -- Activated P Bill Bray from 15-day DL and optioned him to Triple-A Louisville.

TWINS -- Placed OF Michael Cuddyer on 15-day DL. Purchased contract of former Orioles OF Darnell McDonald from Triple-A Rochester.

YANKEES -- Purchased contract of OF Shelley Duncan from Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre. Optioned OF Kevin Thompson to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.


BUCKS -- Signed C Jake Voskuhl to one-year contract.

HEAT -- Signed GM Randy Pfund to contract extension.

LAKERS -- Signed G Derek Fisher.


SUPERSONICS -- Acquired F Kurt Thomas and 2008 and 2010 first-round picks from Suns for 2008 second-round pick.


NFL -- Suspended Raiders S Jarrod Cooper four games for violating substance abuse policy.

PACKERS -- Announced resignation of CEO John Jones.


OILERS -- Agreed to one-year contract with D Joni Pitkanen.



Minor leagues

Yesterday's results Batavia 4, Aberdeen 3 Erie 4, Bowie 3 Hickory 7, Delmarva 4 Kinston 7, Frederick 5 Hagerstown 7, Lexington 1 Columbus 6, Norfolk 2 Today's games Hagerstown at Hickory, 6 p.m. Frederick at Kinston, 7:00 p.m. Batavia at Aberdeen, 7:05 p.m. Erie at Bowie, 7:05 p.m. Delmarva at West Virginia, 7:05 p.m. Columbus at Norfolk, 7:15 p.m.


Tour de France

12th Stage A 110.9-mile medium mountain stage from Montpellier to Castres 1. Tom Boonen, Belgium, Quick Step -Innergetic, 4 hours, 25 minutes, 32 seconds.


2. Erik Zabel, Germany, Team Milram, st.

3. Robert Hunter, South Africa, Barloworld, st.

4. Daniele Bennati, Italy, Lampre-Fondital, st.

5. Thor Hushovd, Norway, Credit Agricole, st.

6. Bernhard Eisel, Austria, T-Mobile, st.

7. Sebastien Chavanel, France, Francaise des Jeux, st.


8. Nicolas Jalabert, France, Agritubel, st.

9. Robert Foerster, Germany, Gerolsteiner, st.

10. Andrey Kashechkin, Kazakhstan, Astana, st.

Overall Standings (After 12 stages) 1. Michael Rasmussen, Denmark, Rabobank, 57:37:10.

2. Alejandro Valverde, Spain, Caisse d'Epargne, 2:35.

3. Iban Mayo, Spain, Saunier Duval-Prodir, 2:39.


4. Cadel Evans, Australia, Predictor-Lotto, 2:41.

5. Alberto Contador, Spain, Discovery Channel, 3:08.

6. Carlos Sastre, Spain, Team CSC, 3:39.

7. Andreas Kloeden, Germany, Astana, 3:50.

8. Levi Leipheimer, United States, Discovery Channel, 3:53.

9. Kim Kirchen, Luxembourg, T-Mobile, 5:06.


10. Mikel Astarloza, Spain, Euskaltel- Euskadi, 5:20.