Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five


The Baltimore Sun

Theater cancels fundraiser

Education notes The Phoenix Festival Theater has canceled its gala fundraiser, "Singing With the Stars," scheduled for 7 p.m. Saturday in Harford Community College's Chesapeake Theater.

Information: 410-836-4211.

30-year reunion slated for August

The Edgewood High School Class of 1977 will hold a 30-year reunion weekend Aug. 17-19.

The weekend starts with an evening mixer Aug. 17 at Mountain Branch Grille, Route 152, Joppa.

The main reunion gathering will be from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m. Aug. 18 at Mountain Branch Grille.

A picnic will be held Aug. 19 at Friends Park in Forest Hill.

All 1977 graduates and teachers, and friends from 1976 and 1978 are invited.

Information: 410-588-5284.

Seven get Notre Dame scholarships

Seven Harford County residents received scholarships to the College of Notre Dame of Maryland.

Ashley Fleming, a senior at Baltimore Lutheran High School, received a Talent Award for $6,000 per year.

Three John Carroll School students earned scholarships: Christina Kudrna, Notre Dame Scholarship for $9,500 per year; Kate Marie Halbruner, Presidential Scholarship for $23,750 per year; and Catherine Subrizi, the Cahill Endowed Scholarship for $7,500 each year.

Laura Malek, a senior at Fallston High, received a Presidential Award for $17,000 per year.

Kelsey Ritzel, from North Harford High, received a Learn for Life Transfer Scholarship for $11,875 each year. Micah Yousefi, a graduate of Walkersville Christian, received a Leadership Award for $7,000 per year.

Wal-Mart names Teachers of the Year

Harford County Wal-Mart stores have named two Harford County Public School teachers as Teachers of the Year.

Teachers receive $1,000 for their school, a $100 gift card for school supplies for their classroom, a polo shirt and certificate.

Honored teachers are Shirley Pollitt from Halls Cross Roads Elementary, and Cynthia Heath of North Bend Elementary.

Speech contest winners announced

Rotary International, District 7620, has announced the winners of its annual speech contest for high school students.

Fallston High senior Timothy Mantegna took first place in the Bel Air Rotary contest, then competed in the district semifinal, where he was a runner-up.

The second-place winner was Ariel Zhao, also a Fallston High senior.

Students received cash prizes.

Donation funds HCC scholarship

John and Sandie Ferriter recently made a donation to the Harford Community College Foundation to help fund the Bridget O' Leary Scholarship, named in honor of John Ferriter's grandmother.

Ann Ramsey, foundation board chair, and college President James F. LaCalle accepted the donation from John Ferriter, senior vice president and general manager of SAIC, and HCC associate professor of business administration Sandie Ferriter.

CCC welcomes new board members

The Cecil Community College Foundation Inc. recently welcomed Dottie Campbell of North East, Bill De Freitas and Alan L. Sexton of Elkton, and Alan McCarthy of Chesapeake City to the board of directors.

Campbell is a tax agent for the Internal Revenue Service who completed 13 credits at CCC before earning a bachelor's degree in sociology from Immaculata College.

De Freitas is the owner of Graphics Ink Inc. and Cecil County Connections magazine.

McCarthy, a longtime Cecil County resident, recently retired from his veterinary practice.

Sexton manages the human resources department at ATK in Elkton.

The foundation also elected officers for 2007-08. Ronald Sexton will serve as chair, and Mary Johnson as vice chair. Deron Brown will chair the Fund Management Committee and Mary Maloney will co-chair the Fund Development Committee with De Freitas.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad