THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

boys lacrosse

The Baltimore Sun

Player of the Year

Daniel Hostetler

River Hill

The senior attackman-midfielder scored 41 goals, assisted on 45 others, scooped 138 ground balls and had 35 takeaways to lead the Hawks into the Class 3A-2A South regional playoffs. Bound for Georgetown University on a lacrosse scholarship, Hostetler has career totals of 109 goals, 125 assists, 372 ground balls and 97 takeaways. Hostetler led the Hawks to victories over Class 2A-1A state semifinalist Marriotts Ridge, Howard County League runner-up Centennial and Class 3A-2A state champion Glenelg during some of his best performances of the year. Hostetler has earned All-Howard County selections in football, basketball and lacrosse; All-Metro honors for quarterbacking the football team to a state runner-up finish; and second-team All-Metro recognition for lacrosse.

Coach of the Year

Josh Hatmaker


The coach had perhaps his defining moment on May 23, when he guided the Gladiators to a 6-3 victory over heavily favored Fallston in the Class 3A-2A state championship game at UMBC Stadium. The win earned the Gladiators (15-3) their first state title in school history after having been runners-up in 1983, 1997, 2000 and 2004. On the way to winning the Class 3A-2A South regional title, the Gladiators avenged regular-season losses to River Hill and Centennial. They then held high-powered Fallston to a season low in scoring, as junior goalie Jon Selfridge made 10 of his 15 saves in the fourth quarter. Selfridge returns as senior next season, as will attackmen Chris Gotschall (45 goals, 30 assists), Josh Braun (33, nine) and Tyler Burford (19, 15); midfielder Ryan Dougherty (28, nine); and defenseman Mike McCabe.

First Team

Name School Class Pos. Ryan Gavlin Chapelgate Senior Attack

Chris Gotschall Glenelg Junior Attack Dan Hostetler River Hill Senior Attack

Jesse Kendall Howard Senior Attack David Griffith Hammond Senior Midfield

Justin Martinelli Mount Hebron Senior Midfield Jonathan Stumpf Centennial Senior Midfield

Nick Lawson Glenelg Senior Defense Aaron Reeves Wilde Lake Senior Defense

Andrew Walls Glenelg Country Senior Defense Walter Bentsen Wilde Lake Senior Goalie

Jon Selfridge Glenelg Junior Goalie

Second team

Name School Class Pos. Bobby Cooke Mount Hebron Senior Attack

Ryan Dougherty Glenelg Junior Attack Joey Placek Atholton Senior Attack

Mark Saxton Mount Hebron Junior Attack

Brendan Harrison Mount Hebron Senior Midfield

Billy Reybold Reservoir Junior Midfield

Kyle Williams Mar. Ridge Soph. Midfield

Michael Golibart River Hill Senior Defense Chris Masiulis Howard Senior Defense

Mike Rossberg Centennial Senior Defense Eric Joerdens Centennial Senior Goalie

Billy McNamara Mount Hebron Senior Goalie

Note -- Team selected by Lem Satterfield after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad