The Baltimore Sun

Player of the Year

Ben Winter


After Centennial graduated last season's Player of the Year, pitcher-shortstop Scott Swinson, Winter stepped right in. The junior pitcher-outfielder led the Eagles (20-5) to the Class 3A state final and helped them repeat as Howard County champions. The left-hander went 7-1 with a 1.33 ERA. His only loss came in the 3A final to Westminster, 4-1. That followed a two-hitter with nine strikeouts in a 7-2 win over Howard in the county championship game. A fleet-footed outfielder, Winter batted .480 with 25 RBIs, 24 runs scored and 15 extra-base hits, including eight triples.

Coach of the Year

Rich Jennings


The veteran coach watched his Lions start the season 2-3 before they won 13 straight to clinch a berth in the county championship game as the Division 2 winner. Howard's winning streak, the longest in the county this season, ended in the county final with a 7-2 loss to Centennial. Jennings got the Lions back on track for the playoffs, guiding them to a couple wins before a loss in the 2A South regional semifinals. The Lions finished 17-5 and No. 11 in The Sun's final poll.

First team

Name School Class Pos.

Shane Mattingly Centennial Junior Pitcher

Drew Permison Oakland Mills Senior Pitcher

Dan Swartz Howard Senior Pitcher

Ben Winter Centennial Junior Pitcher

Brad Shepherd Oakland Mills Senior Catcher

Kevin Carlson Wilde Lake Senior First base

Jake Anderson Glenelg Senior Second base

Austin Harclerode Centennial Senior Third base

Steve Lombardozzi Atholton Senior Shortstop

Brady Baxter Mt. Hebron Senior Outfield

Alex Bechta Centennial Senior Outfield

Matt Hein Centennial Senior Outfield

Second team

Name School Class Pos.

Steve Blucher Mar. Ridge Junior Pitcher

Drew Guty Reservoir Junior Pitcher

Matt Zarin Howard Senior Pitcher

Brian Wyman Long Reach Junior Catcher

Jeff Randolph Oakland Mills Senior First base

Tony Mierzara Reservoir Junior Second base

Billy West Glenelg Senior Third base

Tyler Curley Howard Senior Shortstop

Bobby Kunlo Hammond Senior Outfield

Casey Medairy Howard Senior Outfield

Brett McQuilkin Atholton Senior Outfield

Josh Futter Wilde Lake Senior DH

Note -- Teams selected by Pat O'Malley after consultation with The Sun staff and some area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad