Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five


The Baltimore Sun

Player of the Year


Carly Martin

Seton Keough

After falling in last year's Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference title game, Martin and the Gators saw this season as unfinished business. The job was completed, with Martin throwing a five-hitter to lead the Gators to the conference championship with a 2-0 win over John Carroll. Martin went 14-2 for the season with a 1.16 ERA - allowing no earned runs and striking out 26 in the Gators' two playoff wins. She batted .296 with 13 RBIs and 11 runs, driving in the game-winning run in the championship game with a first-inning sacrifice fly.

Coach of the Year

Dave Bowyer

Seton Keough

With a senior-laden group motivated by last season's runner-up finish in the IAAM A Conference, Bowyer pushed all the right buttons to enable the Gators to capture this year's crown. Bowyer, in his second year as head coach, stressed fundamentals on defense and being opportunistic on offense to bring home wins. Bowyer said a key to the season was getting his group to believe it could beat two-time defending league champion Archbishop Spalding, which it did twice during the regular season.

First team

Name School Class Pos.

Carly Martin Seton Keough Senior Pitcher

Colleen Matthes IND Senior Pitcher

Amanda Ward IND Senior Catcher

Courtney Kane Seton Keough Soph. First base

Maria Infussi Mercy Soph. Second base

Brianna Jones IND Junior Shortstop

Kathy McLaughlin Seton Keough Senior Shortstop

Meghan Kovac Seton Keough Senior Third base

Kerri O'Malley Seton Keough Soph. Outfield

Mandlea Uebel IND Fresh. Outfield

Kristin Urban Mercy Senior Outfield

Brandie Wright Dig. Harbor Junior Outfield

Second team

Name School Class Pos.

Shannon Bonnett Southwestern Junior Pitcher

Shanice Crowder Poly Soph. Pitcher

Kari Edwards Western Senior Pitcher

Michelle Campbell Seton Keough Junior Catcher

Gabrielle Devaud IND Junior First base

Kacey Ruark Western Senior First base

Carly Read Seton Keough Soph. Second base

Akeema Richards Western Soph. Shortstop

Mary Stefanski Mercy Soph. Third base

Sabrina Mullaney IND Junior Outfield

Katie Murphy Poly Junior Utility

Rebecca Nicely IND Senior Outfield

Note -- Team selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad