Don’t miss Trey Mancini and Joey Rickard guest bartend at the first Brews & O’s event June 10th. Get your tickets today!


The Baltimore Sun


Performer of the Year

Letecia Wright


Wright once again was the most dominant athlete among city public schools competitors and also one of the state's best. The senior won the Class 3A 100-meter hurdles at the state meet and also captured the 200 meters, setting a class record of 24.26 seconds. Wright, who was nearly perfect this year, will take her talents to Ohio State.

Coach of the Year

Lutalo Bakari

Digital Harbor

Bakari kept the Rams rolling again this spring, helping put together a balanced team that won the Class 1A state title. Digital Harbor got contributions from a lot of people in the state meet after winning the regional and placing second to Western (by 11 points) in the Baltimore City meet. The bad news for Digital Harbor's foes is that Bakari did it with mostly underclassmen.

The team

Name School Class

Marcia Bond Mercy Senior

Erin Brooks Seton Keough Junior

Alyssa Doyle Seton Keough Senior

Demia Franklin Digital Harbor Senior

Taryn Johnson Digital Harbor Senior

Tashana Johnson Western Senior

Alyssa McClure Digital Harbor Junior

Ashly McClure Digital Harbor Junior

Tyshia Oliver R.F.Lewis Junior

Nykiesha Sewell Mervo Senior

Quantikia Stepney Mervo Senior

Kitria Stewart Mervo Junior

Alex Tanner Bryn Mawr Senior

Chelsea Walker Digital Harbor Freshman

Letecia Wright Western Senior

Note -- Team selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad