The Baltimore Sun

Player of the Year


Kevin Lingerman

Calvert Hall

Lingerman, a junior and three-year starter, led the No. 1 Cardinals to their third straight Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference title and a state-record 33-0 season. The right-hander was an outstanding two-way player at third base and on the mound. As a pitcher, he went 7-0 with a 1.49 ERA in 47 innings. He threw a no-hitter and also had four saves. Lingerman was the No. 3 hitter in a lineup with a prolific first four and batted .390 with 47 RBIs, second in team history to Joe Vellegia's 52 in 2005. Lingerman, a line-drive hitter, had 39 hits in 100 at-bats, scored 26 runs and had 11 doubles, two triples and three homers.

Coach of the Year

Lou Eckerl

Calvert Hall

Eckerl, the school's athletic director for the past 25 years, completed his sixth season as coach by leading the Cardinals to a third consecutive MIAA A Conference championship. Calvert Hall went 33-0, breaking the state record for wins in a season set by the Cardinals in 2005. The Cardinals have gone 91-8 over the past three seasons and 151-40 (.791) under Eckerl. Eckerl remains the only coach to win A Conference titles at two schools, having led his alma mater, Cardinal Gibbons, to the 1982 title.

First team

Name School Class Pos.

Kevin Jacob Parkville Senior Pitcher

Louey Mari St. Paul's Senior Pitcher

Ryan Rivers Eastern Tech Senior Pitcher

John Collingsworth Calvert Hall Senior Catcher

Patrick Blair Calvert Hall Soph. Infield

Jack Carey St. Paul's Soph. Infield

Jeff Guthridge Calvert Hall Senior Infield

Kevin Lingerman Calvert Hall Senior Infield

Joe Yermal McDonogh Senior Infield

Reid Chenworth Calvert Hall Senior Outfield

Josh Kempa Eastern Tech Senior Outfield

Adam Kolarek Catonsville Senior Outfield

Second team

Name School Class Pos.

Michael Dillon Calvert Hall Junior Pitcher

Bobby Kirby Loyola Junior Pitcher

Mark Petersen Franklin Senior Pitcher

Jimmy Matthews Hereford Senior Catcher

Matt Trimmer Boys' Latin Senior Catcher

Josh Winter Boys' Latin Junior First base

Mitch Toland Kenwood Senior Second base

Vincente Tiburzi Patapsco Junior Third base

Kyle Hall Catonsville Senior Shortstop

Jordan Watkins Hereford Senior Shortstop

Mike Bloomer Catonsville Senior Outfield

Mike Sokolis Eastern Tech Senior Utility

Note -- Teams selected by Pat O'Malley after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad