The Baltimore Sun


Player of the Year

Peter Fallon


The senior defender had one of his best games on May 8, when he helped the Greyhounds pull a 9-6 upset of league rival St. Paul's in the semifinals of the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference tournament. "He finished the year tied for second in ground balls on our team, covered every team's best attackman and did it well," Gilman coach Brooks Matthews said of Brown, who is headed for Brown. "He's an all-around defenseman with good size and strength who rarely gets run by." Fallon and senior goalie Matt Chriss were the leaders on an underclassmen-laden squad.

Coach of the Year

Joe Latona

Archbishop Curley

After taking the Friars to the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association B Conference quarterfinals in 2004 and the semifinals in 2005 and last year, the sixth-year coach finally broke through. His 14th-ranked Friars went 18-1 and won the MIAA B Conference title, 8-6, over Park. That win was Curley's 10th straight and completed the program's best season since 1986, when it won the last of its six titles in the defunct Maryland Scholastic Association. Doug Herdegen (56 goals, 23 assists), Kenny Whittaker (46, 18) and Brandon Capeletti (43, 15) were the top scorers, and the defense of Ray Wodarski, Eric Heitman, Dave Manik and Andrew Sellers allowed only three teams to score in double figures.

First team

Name School Class Pos. Matt Hanzsche Mt. St. Joe Senior Attack

Doug Herdegen Arch. Curley Senior Attack Bruce DeWitt Walbrook Senior Attack

Josh Skene Card. Gibbons Senior Attack Kenny Whittaker Arch. Curley Senior Attack

Arnold Coleman Carver Senior Midfield Jack Doyle Gilman Soph. Midfield

Ryan Mulford Mt. St. Joe Senior Midfield Joe Valderas Card. Gibbons Senior Midfield

Peter Fallon Gilman Senior Defense Dave Manik Arch. Curley Senior Defense

Matt Chriss Gilman Senior Goalie

Second Team

Name School Class Pos. Max Armstrong City Senior Attack

Tommy Beach Mt. St. Joe Senior Attack Marcus Holman Gilman Soph. Attack

Ryan Kearney Card. Gibbons Senior Attack

David Eubanks Poly Senior Midfield

Chris Hardy Mervo Junior Midfield

Greg McBride Gilman Soph. Midfield

Devine Wilson Northwestern Senior Midfield

Kahil Wilson Edmondson Senior Midfield

Joe Ames Card. Gibbons Senior Defense

Brad Hresko Mt. St. Joe Senior Defense

Ray Wodarski Arch. Curley Senior Goalie

Note -- Team selected by Lem Satterfield after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad