Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!


The Baltimore Sun

Player of the Year

girls lacrosse

Caroline Spearman


The senior stood out on one of the most balanced teams in the area with her ability to make big plays. For her first three years, Spearman excelled as a defender, but her move to the midfield this season put her in position to contribute all over the field and she excelled at the challenge. Sometimes flashy but always solid, she finished second in scoring for the No. 4 Eagles, who went unbeaten in the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference during the regular season and reached the tournament semifinal. Spearman finished with 26 goals and 12 assists.

Coach of the Year

Chris Robinson


In his third season with the Eagles, Robinson led a rebuilt team to one of the most difficult accomplishments in girls lacrosse - going undefeated through the regular season in the tough Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference. Robinson, 54-6 at McDonogh, dipped way into his bench, regularly going 18 deep. He helped the team develop its strong chemistry with an early training trip to Hilton Head, S.C. The players bought into the team concept, he said, realizing it gave them the best chance to contend in the conference.

First Team

Name School Class Pos.

Kirstyn Atkinson McDonogh Senior Attack

Mary Heneberry Dulaney Senior Attack

Ali Libertini Mt. de Sales Senior Attack

Sarah Flynn Towson Senior Midfield

Emily Franke Towson Senior Midfield

Grace Gavin St. Paul's Senior Midfield

Kate Horsman Dulaney Senior Midfield

Erin Laschinger NDP Soph. Midfield

Jessica Nonn Catonsville Junior Midfield

Caroline Spearman McDonogh Senior Midfield

Maggie Dunbar St. Paul's Senior Defense

Kristen Horsman Dulaney Senior Defense

Carly Napora McDonogh Junior Defense

Julia Schreiber McDonogh Senior Goalie

Second Team

Name School Class Pos.

Corrine Drost Hereford Senior Attack

Kirsty Goldberg St. Paul's Junior Attack

Casey Kelly McDonogh Senior Attack

Meg Decker Mt. de Sales Senior Midfield

Caroline Markowitz Garrison For. Senior Midfield

Colby Rhea McDonogh Soph. Midfield

Sophia Thomas Maryvale Soph. Midfield

Mary Wittelsberger Hereford Senior Midfield

Cathy Bachur Towson Junior Defense

Ana Heneberry Dulaney Junior Defense

Hope McIntyre Dulaney Senior Defense

Meg Ryan NDP Junior Defense

Taylor Virden McDonogh Fresh. Defense

MaKenzie Worthington Dulaney Senior Goalie

Note -- Teams selected by Katherine Dunn after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad