The Baltimore Sun

Girls lacrosse

Player of the Year

Jordy Kirr

Bryn Mawr

The heart of the No. 9 Mawrtians' offense, Kirr scored 25 goals and had 19 assists. The senior attacker's shot selection was almost impeccable, as she scored on 58 percent of her attempts. Her superb stick skills and game sense also helped her excel in the midfield, where she went after loose balls with the same relentlessness she showed going to goal. Kirr's season came to an untimely end when she suffered a broken collarbone, forcing her to miss the final three games. Still, surgery a couple of days later couldn't keep her off the sideline that afternoon to support her team against rival Roland Park.

Coach of the Year

Josh Headley


In Headley's six seasons as head coach, the Engineers have won every city public schools girls lacrosse championship. This season they went 9-3 overall and swept all seven games against city foes. Although he has had only four girls come through with previous experience and no junior varsity to build on, Headley (50-22 at Poly) has fostered a program that had two former players playing at Division I colleges this season. Despite starting with the basics every season, the Engineers have developed a strong team dynamic and were able to run a more sophisticated offense.

First team

Name School Class Pos.

Courtney Kirk Roland Park Junior Attack

Jordy Kirr Bryn Mawr Senior Attack

Claire Malloy Friends Senior Attack

Lauren Wise Seton Keough Senior Attack

Allie Emala Bryn Mawr Senior Midfield

Miller Hughes Roland Park Senior Midfield

Brooke Matthews Friends Senior Midfield

Emmy Matthews Bryn Mawr Senior Midfield

Liz Hamilton Roland Park Junior Defense

Cindy Kroll Bryn Mawr Senior Defense

Colleen Shea Seton Keough Junior Defense

Jenny Wolock Roland Park Senior Defense

Dana Cahill Mercy Junior Goalie

Katie Janian Bryn Mawr Senior Goalie

Second team

Name School Class Pos.

Noelle Landers Mercy Junior Attack

Laura Simanski Roland Park Junior Attack

Anna Swicklik Friends Senior Attack

Maisie Devine Roland Park Senior Midfield

Meredith Engel IND Senior Midfield

Liza Herzog Friends Fresh. Midfield

Stephanie Parker Catholic Senior Midfield

Austin Campbell Roland Park Senior Defense

Flannery Gallagher Bryn Mawr Senior Defense

Taylor Hargrove Friends Senior Defense

Lucy Pompa Bryn Mawr Senior Defense

Sandra Syntax Poly Junior Defense

Kirby Mundorf Seton Keough Senior Goalie

Jane Randall Roland Park Junior Goalie

Note -- Teams selected by Katherine Dunn after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad