Two drivers injured in crash near Towson

A car crashed into a Towson-area produce market yesterday, sending two people to area hospitals, Baltimore County police said.


About 9:30 a.m., Lawrence Halbert Leuze, 85, of Lutherville was driving a 2000 Honda east in the 1700 block of E. Joppa Road when he tried to turn left into a parking lot near Harold's Produce Market, county police said. He apparently did not see an oncoming 1998 Nissan being driven west on Joppa Road by Mary Cooper, 54, of Nottingham, said Bill Toohey, a county police spokesman.

Cooper swerved to avoid Leuze's car and struck a 2006 Dodge pickup driven by Douglas Edmund Hooper, 44, of Kingsville, county police said.


Cooper's car then struck Leuze's vehicle before crashing into a wall at the produce market, Toohey said. No customers were inside at the time of the crash, said Kellie Simpson, an owner of the produce market.

Cooper was taken by ambulance to Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center and Hooper was taken to St. Joseph Medical Center, both with injuries that were not considered life-threatening, county police said.

Leuze was not injured, police said.

No charges had been filed yesterday afternoon, but the investigation was continuing, county police said.

Nick Shields


Posts on boards, commissions filled

Baltimore County Executive James T. Smith Jr. has named several new volunteer members to boards and commissions.


Smith also reappointed members of many of the boards.

On the six-member Board of Architectural Review, architects James Colimore and John DiMenna were reappointed to terms that expire in April 2010.

On the Commission on Disabilities, longtime activist Terri Parrish was reappointed to a term that expires in May 2010. County police Maj. Randall B. Russin was selected to fill a vacancy on the 42-member panel until the end of the year.

Appointed to the Landmarks Preservation Commission were Thomas Reynolds, co-owner of a farm in Reisterstown whose term expires in 2010; James Matthews, chairman of the commission, who works in the development sector; Robert Gregory, a planning board representative; and local author and historian Louis Diggs. All three have terms that expire in 2011. Seven members of the commission are appointed by council members, and eight are appointed by the executive.

Michael Weber, an accountant who was Smith's campaign treasurer and has been involved with the Perry Hall and Kingsville recreation councils, was appointed to the Board of Recreation and Parks for a term that expires at the end of the year. Wayne Definbaugh, who is involved with the Parkville recreation council, was reappointed to the 10-member board through the end of the year.

Blanco Picazo, a domestic violence victims advocate, was appointed to fill a vacancy on the eight-member Board of Social Services. The term expires next month.


On the Commission for Women, Christina Kirkland; Mary Jane Sheridan, wife of the chief of police; and LaFrance K. Muldrow, retired deputy director of social services, were reappointed to terms that expire in March 2010. Barbara Yingling was selected to fill a vacancy on the 21-member panel until July, 2009.

Arnold Eppel, director of the county's Department of Aging, was selected to serve on the 30-member Workforce Development Council. His term expires in June 2009.

Events or news items for the Baltimore County Digest may be submitted to Information should be sent at least 10 days in advance of the event.